Photo of 3 female students smiling in caps and gowns

"Alma Mater"

To thee, Alma Mater,
We'll always be true.
All Hail to thy standard,
The white and the blue.
Proclaiming thy future,
Recalling thy past.
Our hopes spring from mem'ries
Eternally cast.
With sorrows we'll leave thee,
New worlds to create.
May deeds of thy children
Make thee forever great!

Notable Alumni

Brandeis counts among its graduates Pulitzer Prize winners, Emmy Award winners, best-selling authors — even a Nobel laureate. But it doesn't stop there. Brandeis graduates occupy leadership roles in virtually every walk of life. Here are just a few:

Activism and Public Service

  • Deborah Bial ’87, education strategist; founder and president, Posse Foundation (MacArthur Fellow)

  • Alisa Gravitz ’77, CEO and president, Green America
  • Devika Mahadevan ’00, CEO, Mumbai Mobile Creches

  • Bobby Sager ’76, philanthropist; former president, Gordon Brothers Group

  • Rakesh Rajani ’89, civil society leader in Tanzania

  • Robert Romasco ’69, president, AARP (formerly American Association of Retired Persons)
  • Andrew Slack ’02, executive director and co-founder, Harry Potter Alliance
  • Sam Vaghar ’08, executive director and co-founder, Millennium Campus Network

Arts and Entertainment

  • David Crane ’79 and Marta Kauffman ’78, co-creators, “Friends”
  • Loretta Devine, MFA’76, Emmy Award-winning actor (“Dreamgirls,” “Grey's Anatomy”)
  • Tony Goldwyn ’82, film and TV actor and director (“Scandal,” “Ghost”)
  • Debra Granik ’85, film director and screenwriter (“Winter’s Bone,” “Down to the Bone”)
  • Marshall Herskovitz ’73, director, producer and screenwriter (“The Last Samurai,” “Traffic," “30something”)
  • Michael Kaiser ’75, co-chair, IMG Artists; president, DeVos Institute of Arts Management, University of Maryland; president emeritus, Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts
  • Jonathan Landau ’68, music producer and manager (Bruce Springsteen)
  • Debra Messing ’90, Emmy Award-winning actor (“Will & Grace,” “Smash,” “Outside Mullingar”)
  • Anand Patwardhan ’72, documentary filmmaker
  • Theresa Rebeck, MA’83, MFA’86, PhD’89, Broadway playwright
  • Gary Tinterow ’76, director, Museum of Fine Arts, Houston
  • George Wachter ’73, chair, executive vice president, Sotheby’s
  • Adam Weinberg ’77, Alice Pratt Brown Director, Whitney Museum of Modern Art, New York


  • Mitch Albom ’79, “Tuesdays With Morrie,” “Five People You Meet in Heaven”
  • Stacey Ballis ’92, “Inappropriate Men,” “Sleeping Over,” “Room for Improvement”
  • Edward Dolnick ’74, “The Clockwork Universe,” “The Forger's Spell,” “The Rescue Artist”
  • Karen Drogin ’87 (aka Carly Phillips), “Serendipity,” “Destiny”
  • Ha Jin, MA’89, PhD’93, “Waiting,” “War Trash,” “Nanjing Requiem”
  • Jesse Kellerman, MFA’03, “Sunstroke,” “Genius,” “Trouble,” “The Executor”

Business and Industry

  • Len Asper ’86, co-founder and managing partner, Syngus Ventures; president and CEO, Anthem Media Group
  • Tony Chang, PhD ’83, founder and director, Tech-Link Silicones
  • Steve Cloobeck ’83, CEO, Diamond Resorts International
  • Jonathan Davis ’75, CEO and founder, The Davis Companies
  • Jeri Finard ’81, president, Godiva North America
  • Brian Lash ’78, founder and CEO, Target Logistics
  • Olaf Olafsson ’85, executive vice president of international and corporate strategy, Time Warner
  • Lou Perlmutter ’56, retired senior partner, Lazard; senior advisor, Corporate Partners private equity fund
  • Robert F.X. Sillerman ’69, businessman and media entrepreneur
  • Sam Sisakhti, MA’07, CEO, UsTrendy
  • Perry Traquina ’78, CEO, Wellington Management investment firm


  • Arthur Caplan ’71, Drs. William F. and Virginia Connolly Mitty Professor and head of the Division of Bioethics, New York University Langone Medical Center
  • Martha Kanter ’70, former undersecretary, U.S. Department of Education
  • Angela Davis ’65, former director, feminist studies department, University of California, Santa Cruz; political and social activist
  • Deborah Lipstadt, MA’72, PhD’76, Dorot Professor of Modern Jewish and Holocaust Studies, Emory University
  • David Oshinsky, PhD’71, director, Division of Medical Humanities, NYU Langone Medical Center (Pulitzer Prize Winner)
  • Jehuda Reinharz, PhD ’72, president emeritus, Brandeis University; Jewish historian; president, Mandel Foundation
  • Manuel Rivera ’74, prominent educator and inner-city superintendent
  • Michael Sandel ’75, Anne T. and Robert M. Bass Professor of Government, Harvard University
  • Jonathan Sarna ’75, MA’75, Joseph H. and Belle R. Braun Professor of American Jewish History, Brandeis University
  • Fernando Torres-Gil, PhD’76, professor and director of Center for Policy Research on Aging, University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA)
  • Michael Walzer ’56, political theorist; professor emeritus, Institute for Advanced Study
  • David Yoffie ’76, Max and Doris Starr Professor of International Business Administration; senior associate dean; chair, executive education at Harvard Business School
  • Robert Zimmer ’68, president, University of Chicago

Government and Politics

  • Geir Haarde ’73, former prime minister, Iceland
  • Olubanke King-Akerele ’67, former foreign minister, Liberia
  • Lisa Kubiske ’75, U.S. ambassador to Honduras
  • Haile Menkerios ’70, head of United Nations Office to the African Union and special representative to the African Union
  • Dimitrij Rupel, PhD’76, former minister of foreign affairs, Slovenia
  • Daniel Shapiro ’91, U.S. ambassador to Israel

Journalism and Media

  • Paula Apsell ’69, senior executive producer, “Nova,” and director of WGBH-TV science unit (Emmy Award winner)
  • Thomas Friedman ’75, foreign affairs columnist, The New York Times (Pulitzer Prize winner)
  • Walt Mossberg ’69, information technology columnist and founder, Re/Code (Loeb award winner)
  • Peter Osnos ’64, founder and editor-at-large, Public Affairs Books
  • Martin Peretz ’59, former editor-in-chief, The New Republic
  • Letty Cottin Pogrebin ’59, founding editor, Ms. Magazine
  • Guy Raz ’96, host of “TED Radio Hour,” National Public Radio
  • Ellis Verdi ’77, co-founder and CEO, DeVito/Verdi advertising agency

Science and Mathematics

  • Paul Anastas, MA’87, PhD’89, director, Center for Green Chemistry and Green Engineering and Teresa and H. John Heinz III Professor in the Practice of Chemistry for the Environment, Yale University
  • Bonnie Berger ’83, professor of applied math and computer science, MIT; first woman in MIT math department to earn tenure
  • Adam Cheyer ’88, co-founder, Siri voice-activated personal assistant
  • Susan Band Horowitz, PhD’63, Rose C. Falkenstein Professor of Cancer Research, Albert Einstein College of Medicine; co-inventor of cancer-fighting drug Taxol
  • Leslie Lamport, MA'71, PhD'72, principal researcher, Microsoft and developer of LaTeX (Turing Award winner)
  • Roderick MacKinnon ’78, John D. Rockefeller Jr. Professor, The Rockefeller University (Nobel laureate, Howard Hughes Medical Institute investigator)
  • Eve Marder ’69, Victor and Gwendolyn Beinfield Professor of Neuroscience, Brandeis; member of advisory board for President Barack Obama’s BRAIN (Brain Research through Advancing Innovative Neurotechnologies) initiative
  • Karen Uhlenbeck, MA’67, PhD’68, Sid W. Richardson Foundation Regents Chair in Mathematics, University of Texas-Austin (MacArthur Fellow)
  • Edward Witten ’71, Charles Simonyi Professor of Mathematical Physics, Institute for Advanced Study (Fields Medal winner)


  • Nelson Figueroa ’98,  pitcher, Major League Baseball
  • Jeffrey Lurie, PhD’87, owner, Philadelphia Eagles
  • Tim Morehouse ’00, Olympic fencer