What to Publish, When to Publish
Publishing is the act of sending all or part of your site to the web. You can publish a page, folder or file.
At Brandeis, we have two publishing destinations: www.brandeis.edu and webtest.brandeis.edu. Anytime you make changes to your site, first publish the webtest — think of it as a draft server. You can check you work, share with colleagues, and make changes in the CMS prior to your page(s) going to the live site. Once you review your site on webtest, you can publish to the live site, www.brandeis.edu.
When Do I Republish?
After You Edit a Page
- Publish the page.
After You Change the "Include in Left Navigation" Option
- If the page or folder appears/should appear in your left navigation, republish your site (Base Folder). If it appears/should appear in a sub-folder, publish the sub-folder and the site's main index page.
After you Move/Rename
- If you have moved/renamed a page that was in a folder to a new folder, publish both folders and your site’s index page.
- If you have moved/renamed a page that was in the left navigation to a new folder, publish your whole site (Base Folder).
- If you moved/renamed an image or document, republish all Relationships for that image to avoid broken links.
After You Delete
- If you deleted, reordered or moved a page that was in a folder, publish that folder and your site’s index page.
- If you deleted a page that was in the top-level of the left navigation, republish your site (Base Folder).
- If you deleted a PDF that was linked on a page, edit the page to remove the linked text and republish that page.
- If you deleted an image that was displayed on a page, edit the page to remove the image and republish that page.
- If you deleted an image or a block from a page, republish that page.
Best Practice: Before publishing your pages live, you should first publish to the test server. This gives you an opportunity to review the pages privately before they become available to the public.