Chairs of Departments and Interdepartmental Programs

Chairs of Departments and Programs for the 2017/18 Academic Year:


 Chair / Director


 School Council

African and Afro-American Studies Carina Ray Delande Justinvil Social Science
Anthropology Janet McIntosh Laurel Carpenter Social Science
Biochemistry Chris Miller Maryanna Aldrich Science
Biology Piali Sengupta Heather Felton Science
Chemistry Barry Snider Meghan Hennelly Science
Classical Studies Ann O. Koloski-Ostrow Heidi McAllister Humanities
Computer Science Jordan Pollack Michael Golitsyn Science
Economics George Hall Leslie Yancich Social Science
English (Creative Writing) John Plotz Lisa Pannella Humanities
Fine Arts (Art History and Studio Art) Aida Wong Christine Dunant Creative Arts
German, Russian and Asian Languages and Literature (Chinese and Japanese) David Powelstock Lynn Zhong Humanities
History David Engerman Dona DeLorenzo Social Science
Hornstein Program Jonathan Sarna, Chair, and Ellen Smith, Director Claire Pavlik Purgus Social Science
Mathematics Dmitry Kleinbock Catherine Broderick Science
Music Mark Berger Mark Kagan Creative Arts
Near Eastern and Judaic Studies Jonathan Decter Joanne Arnish Humanities
Philosophy Jerry Samet Julie Seeger Humanities
Physical Education (Athletics) Sheryl Sousa Marni Friedman
Physics Jané Kondev Roland Maher Science
Politics Steve Burg Rosanne Colocouris Social Science
Psychology Paul DiZio Phil Gnatowski Social Science
Romance Studies (French and Francophone Studies, Italian Studies, Hispanic Studies) Fernando Rosenberg Katie Dickinson Humanities
Sociology Karen Hansen Cheryl Hansen Social Science
Theater Arts Susan Dibble Alicia Hyland Creative Arts

Interdepartmental Programs

Program Chair / Director Administrator School Council
American Studies Maura Farrelly Charity Adams Social Science
Biological Physics Michael Hagan Roland Maher
Business Ed Bayone Karen Muise Social Science
Comparative Literature and Culture Matthew Fraleigh Katie Dickinson  
Creativity, the Arts, and Social Transformation (CAST)

Cynthia Cohen & Thomas King

East Asian Studies Matthew Fraleigh, Xing Hang Winnie Huie  
Education Program Marya Levenson Eileen Kell Social Science
Environmental Studies Brian Donahue Anabela Afonso  
European Cultural Studies Steve Dowden Lynn Zhong  
Film, Television and Interactive Media Alice Kelikian Lisa Brown Social Science
Genetic Counseling Gretchen Schneider Missy Goldberg  
Health: Science, Society and Policy James Morris Kathryn Howell Social Science
Hebrew Language and Literature Sarah Hascal TBD  
History of Ideas Kate Moran Julie Seeger  
International and Global Studies Chandler Rosenberger Mangok Bol Social Science
Islamic and Middle Eastern Studies Nader Habibi Karen Spira  
Italian Studies Paola Servino and Ramie Targoff Katie Dickinson  
Journalism Eileen McNamara Charity Adams  
Language and Linguistics James Pustejovsky Michael Golitsyn Social Science
Latin American and Latino Studies Jeronimo Arellano Laura Brown Social Science
Legal Studies Richard Gaskins Anabela Afonso  
Medieval and Renaissance Studies Sarah Mead Sybil Schlesinger  
Neuroscience Gina Turrigiano Heather Felton  
Peace, Conflict and Coexistence Gordon Fellman Lauren Jordahl  
Quantitative Biology Jeff Gelles, Jané Kondev Maryanna Aldrich  
Religious Studies Bernadette Brooten Joan Tarkulich  
Social Justice and Social Policy Melissa Stimell Lauren Jordahl  
South Asian Studies Hannah Muller Lynn Zhong  
Women's, Gender and Sexuality Studies Wendy Cadge Shannon Kearns  

Arts and Sciences School Council Chairs

School Council Chair
Creative Arts Gannit Ankori, Chair (Fine Arts)
Division of Humanities John Burt (English)
Division of Sciences John Wardle
Division of Social Sciences Sarah Lamb, Head (Anthropology)