Chairs of Departments and Interdepartmental Programs

Chairs of Departments and Programs for the 2018/19 Academic Year:


 Chair / Director


 School Council

African and African American Studies Chad Williams Betsy Loren Plumb Social Science
Anthropology Elizabeth Ferry (interim) Laurel Carpenter Social Science
Biochemistry Chris Miller Maryanna Aldrich Science
Biology Piali Sengupta Heather Felton Science
Chemistry Barry Snider Meghan Hennelly Science
Classical Studies Joel Christensen Heidi McAllister Humanities
Computer Science Jordan Pollack Michael Golitsyn Science
Economics Betsy Brainerd Leslie Yancich Social Science
English (Creative Writing) Caren Irr Lisa Pannella Humanities
Fine Arts (Art History and Studio Art) Aida Wong Christine Dunant Kahn Creative Arts
German, Russian and Asian Languages and Literature (Chinese and Japanese) Robin Miller Xinyi Du Humanities
History Michael Willrich Dona DeLorenzo Social Science
Mathematics Joel Bellaiche Catherine Broderick Science
Music Mark Berger Mark Kagan Creative Arts
Near Eastern and Judaic Studies Eugene Sheppard Joanne Arnish Humanities
Philosophy Kate Moran Julie Seeger Humanities
Physical Education (Athletics) Sheryl Sousa Marni Friedman
Physics Albion Lawrence Roland Maher Science
Politics Daniel Kryder Rosanne Colocouris Social Science
Psychology Donald Katz Phil Gnatowski Social Science
Romance Studies (French and Francophone Studies, Italian Studies, Hispanic Studies) Fernando Rosenberg Katie Dickinson Humanities
Sociology Laura Miller Cheryl Hansen Social Science
Theater Arts Dmitry Troyanovsky Alicia Hyland Creative Arts

Interdepartmental Programs

Program Chair / Director Administrator School Council
American Studies Maura Farrelly Charity Adams Social Science
Biological Physics Michael Hagan Roland Maher Science
Business Aldo Musacchio Karen Muise Social Science
Comparative Literature and Culture Matthew Fraleigh Katie Dickinson Humanities
Creativity, the Arts, and Social Transformation (CAST)

Cynthia Cohen & Thomas King

East Asian Studies Matthew Fraleigh, Xing Hang Winnie Huie Humanities
Education Program Marya Levenson (Fall 2018), Joseph Reimer (Spring 2019) Eileen Kell Social Science
Environmental Studies Dan Perlman Anabela Afonso Social Science
European Cultural Studies Steve Dowden Xinyi Du Humanities
Film, Television and Interactive Media Alice Kelikian Lisa Brown Social Science
Genetic Counseling Gretchen Schneider Missy Goldberg Science
Health: Science, Society and Policy James Morris Kathryn Howell Social Science
History of Ideas Kate Moran Julie Seeger Humanities
Hornstein Program Leonard Saxe Claire Pavlik Purgus Social Science
International and Global Studies Chandler Rosenberger Mangok Bol Social Science
Islamic and Middle Eastern Studies Nader Habibi Karen Spira Humanities
Italian Studies Paola Servino and Ramie Targoff Katie Dickinson Humanities
Journalism Eileen McNamara Charity Adams Social Science
Language and Linguistics James Pustejovsky Michael Golitsyn Social Science
Latin American and Latino Studies Jeronimo Arellano Laura Brown Social Science
Legal Studies Richard Gaskins Anabela Afonso Social Science
Medieval and Renaissance Studies Sarah Mead Sybil Schlesinger Humanities
Neuroscience Gina Turrigiano Heather Felton Science
Peace, Conflict and Coexistence Gordon Fellman Lauren Jordahl Social Science
Quantitative Biology Jeff Gelles, Jané Kondev Maryanna Aldrich Science
Religious Studies Bernadette Brooten Judy Thornton Humanities
Social Justice and Social Policy Melissa Stimell Lauren Jordahl Social Sciences
South Asian Studies Harleen Singh Xinyi Du Humanities
Women's, Gender and Sexuality Studies Wendy Cadge Shannon Kearns Social Science

Arts and Sciences School Council Chairs

School Council Chair
Creative Arts Gannit Ankori, Chair (Fine Arts)
Division of Humanities John Burt (English)
Division of Sciences John Wardle (Physics)
Division of Social Sciences Wendy Cadge (Sociology)