Nomination Information

To nominate a member of the Brandeis faculty for the Louis Dembitz Brandeis Prize for Excellence in Teaching, complete the nomination form.

Brandeis Prize for Excellence in Teaching

Brandeis students, faculty and alumni are invited to nominate outstanding tenured and contract faculty for the Louis Dembitz Brandeis Prize for Excellence in Teaching, which honors an individual for his or her outstanding teaching. 

The award carries a stipend of $2,500 and will be presented at the faculty meeting in April 2018.

Past winners are: 

1986 John Smith English and American Literature
1987 Emily Dudek Chemistry
1988 Barney Schwalberg Economics
1989 Ann Koloski-Ostrow Classical Studies
1990 David H. Fischer History
1991 Peter Heller Physics
1992 Cheryl Walker Classical Studies
1993 Stephen Whitfield American Studies
1994 John Burt English and American Literature
1995 John Bush Jones Theater Arts
1996 Chandler Fulton Biology
1996 Raymond Knight Psychology
1997 Paola Servino Romance and Comparative Literature - Italian
1999 Gordon Fellman Sociology
2000 Susan Parker Math
2001 Mary Davis American Studies
2002 Robert C. Hunt Anthropology
2003 H. Michael Coiner Economics
2004 Olga Broumas Creative Writing
2005 William E. Kapelle History
2006 Dan L. Perlman Biology and Environmental Studies
2007 Lizbeth Hedstrom Biochemistry and Chemistry
2008  Marya Levenson Education
2009  Bruce Foxman Chemistry
2010 Melissa Kosinski-Collins Biology
2011 Eileen McNamara Journalism
2012 Irina Dubinina German, Russian and Asian Languages and Literature
2013 James Morris Biology
2014 Laura Goldin Environmental Studies
2015 Jennifer Cleary

Theater Arts

2016 Claudia Novack


2017 Daniel Breen

Legal Studies

2018 Kristen Mascall