Meet our Faculty


  Faculty / Contact  Areas of Expertise
rick

Rick Alterman
Ph.D., University of Texas
Professor and Director of Graduate Studies, Computer Science
Volen 212
781-736-2703
ralterma@brandeis.edu
website

Computer-supported communication, cooperation, and collaboration; learning and technology; cognitive engineering and modeling; human computer interaction; communication and discourse; internet and society.

mitch

Mitch Cherniack
Ph.D., Brown University
Associate Professor and Undergraduate Advising Head, Computer Science
Volen 259
781-736-2738
mfc@brandeis.edu
website

Databases and Systems supporting the management of "Big Data"; software engineering.

antonella

Antonella DiLillo
Ph.D.,  Brandeis University
Associate Professor, Computer Science
Volen 124
781-736-2736
dilant@brandeis.edu

Visual pattern recognition; content-based image retrieval; image processing and analysis; computer vision.

lotus

Lotus Goldberg
Ph.D., McGill University
Associate Professor, Language and Linguistics, Computational Linguistics Advising Chair
Volen 134
(781) 736-3265
lmgold@brandeis.edu
website

Theoretical syntax and the syntax-semantics interface; ellipsis and null anaphora; morphosyntax; structure of Modern Hebrew and other Semitic languages; corpus linguistics.

tim

Tim Hickey
Ph.D., University of Chicago
Professor, Computer Science
Volen 138
781-736-2706
tjhickey@brandeis.edu
website

Educational Technology; Computer Science Education; 3D Game Design; Interval Arithmetic; Scientific Visualization; Computer Supported Learning; Groupware and Collaborative Editing; Constraint Logic Programming.
penghu

Pengyu Hong
Ph.D., University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign
Associate Professor and Director of Graduate Admissions, Computer Science
Volen 135
781-736-2729
hongpeng@brandeis.edu
website

Computer Science, Machine Learning; Image Processing, Bioinformatics; Biomedical Informatics; Intelligent Education.
harry

Harry Mairson
Ph.D., Stanford University
Professor, Computer Science
Volen 257
781-736-2724
mairson@brandeis.edu
website

Logic in computer science; Lambda calculus; functional programming.

sophia

Sophia Malamud
Ph.D., University of Pennsylvania
Associate Professor, Language and Linguistics
Volen 137
(781) 736-2225
smalamud@brandeis.edu
website
Formal semantics and pragmatics; corpus linguistics; speech acts; game and decision theory; reference and information structure; modality; impersonals and passives; heritage language acquisition.
marie Marie Meteer
Ph.D., University of Massachusetts, Amherst
Associate Professor of the Practice of Computer Science and Industry Liaison
Feldberg 127
(781) 736-2712
mmeteer@brandeis.edu
website
Computational linguistics; natural language processing; speech recognition.

olga

Olga Papaemmanouil
Ph.D., Brown University
Assistant Professor, Computer Science
Volen 139
781-736-2716
papaemmanouil@brandeis.edu
website

Distributed data management; databases; cloud computing; stream processing.

jordan

Jordan Pollack
Ph.D., University of Illinois
Professor and Chairman, Computer Science
Volen 213
781-736-2713
pollack@brandeis.edu
website

Artificial Intelligence; neural networks; machine learning; evolutionary computation and artificial life.

james

James Pustejovsky
Ph.D., University of Massachusetts, Amherst
TJX Feldberg Professor of Computer Science
Volen 258
(781) 736-2709
jamesp@cs.brandeis.edu
website

Theoretical and computational linguistics; artificial intelligence and machine learning; corpus linguistics and annotation; lexical semantics; temporal and spatial reasoning.

pito

R. Pito Salas
B.A., Brandeis University
Associate Professor of the Practice of Computer Science
Feldberg 131
617-388-6367
rpsalas@brandeis.edu

Entrepreneurship; software development methodologies, large-scale software systems architectures; user interface and user experience.

liuba

Liuba Shrira
Ph.D., Technion - Israel Institute of Technology
Professor, Computer Science
Volen 260
781-736-2704
liuba@brandeis.edu
website

Distributed Systems; reliable and scalable storage systems.

jim

Jim Storer
Ph.D., Princeton University
Professor, Computer Science
Volen 254
781-736-2714
storer@brandeis.edu
website

Computer algorithms; data compression; communications and archiving (including text, images; video and multi-media); image retrieval and classification; object recognition and parallel computing.

nianwen xue

Nianwen Bert Xue
Ph.D., University of Delaware
Associate Professor, Computer Science
Volen 136
(781) 736-2728
xuen@brandeis.edu
website

Computational linguistics; Chinese language processing; Semantic role labeling; machine translation and linguistic annotation, including Chinese Treebank, Chinese Proposition Bank, OntoNotes.

Instructors and Visiting Faculty

  Faculty / Contact  Areas of Expertise

peter

Peter Anick
Ph.D., Brandeis University
Lecturer
Volen 256
(781) 736-2726
panick@brandeis.edu

Information retrieval; information extraction; natural language processing; medical informatics.

keith plaster

Keith Plaster
J.D., Georgetown University
M.A., Harvard University
Ph.D. Candidate, Harvard University
Lecturer, Language and Linguistics
Volen 256
(781) 736-2726
kplaster@brandeis.edu
website

Phonological theory; historical linguistics; morphology; heritage linguistics.

mark

Marc Verhagen
Ph.D., Brandeis University
Senior Research Scientist
Volen 110
(781) 736-2745
marc@cs.brandeis.edu

Computational linguistics; corpus annotation and machine learning; temporal relation identification.

wellner

Ben Wellner
Ph.D., Brandeis University
Lecturer
Volen 256
(781) 736-2726
wellner@cs.brandeis.edu

Machine learning; computational linguistics; statistical natural language processing.

STAFF

myrna Myrna Fox
Department Administrator
Volen 262
(781) 736-2701
maf@brandeis.edu

anne Anne Gudaitis
Graduate Program Coordinator
Volen 262
(781) 736-2723
gudaitis@brandeis.edu
ryn

Katie Marchese
Department Coordinator
Volen 262
(781) 736-2700
marchese@brandeis.edu

chris

Chris Page
Chief Systems Administrator
Volen 125
(781) 736-2717
cpage@brandeis.edu