Meet our Faculty


  Faculty / Contact  Areas of Expertise
rick

Rick Alterman
PhD, University of Texas
Professor and Director of Graduate Studies, Computer Science
Volen 212
781-736-2703
ralterma@brandeis.edu
website

Computer-supported communication, cooperation, and collaboration; learning and technology; cognitive engineering and modeling; human computer interaction; communication and discourse; internet and society

mitch

Mitch Cherniack
PhD, Brown University
Associate Professor and Undergraduate Advising Head, Computer Science
Volen 259
781-736-2738
mfc@brandeis.edu
website

Databases and systems supporting the management of "Big Data"; software engineering

antonella

Antonella DiLillo
PhD,  Brandeis University
Associate Professor, Computer Science
Volen 137
781-736-2736
dilant@brandeis.edu

Visual pattern recognition; content-based image retrieval; image processing and analysis; computer vision

lotus

Lotus Goldberg
PhD, McGill University
Associate Professor, Language and Linguistics, Computational Linguistics Advising Chair
Volen 252
(781) 736-3265
lmgold@brandeis.edu
website

Theoretical syntax and the syntax-semantics interface; ellipsis and null anaphora; morphosyntax; structure of Modern Hebrew and other Semitic languages; corpus linguistics

tim

Tim Hickey
PhD, University of Chicago
Professor, Computer Science
Volen 138
781-736-2706
tjhickey@brandeis.edu
website

Educational technology, computer science education, 3D game design, interval arithmetic, scientific visualization, computer supported learning, groupware and collaborative editing, constraint logic programming
penghu

Pengyu Hong
PhD, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign
Associate Professor and Director of Graduate Admissions, Computer Science
Volen 135
781-736-2729
hongpeng@brandeis.edu
website

Computer science, machine Learning, image processing, bioinformatics, biomedical informatics, intelligent education
harry

Harry Mairson
PhD, Stanford University
Professor, Computer Science
Volen 257
781-736-2724
mairson@brandeis.edu
website

Logic in computer science, Lambda calculus, functional programming

sophia

Sophia Malamud
PhD, University of Pennsylvania
Associate Professor, Language and Linguistics
Volen 215
(781) 736-2225
smalamud@brandeis.edu
website
Formal semantics and pragmatics, corpus linguistics, speech acts, game and decision theory, reference and information structure, modality, impersonals and passives, heritage language acquisition
marie Marie Meteer
PhD, University of Massachusetts, Amherst
Associate Professor of the Practice of Computer Science and Industry Liaison
Volen 139
(781) 736-2712
mmeteer@brandeis.edu
website
Computational linguistics, natural language processing, speech recognition

olga

Olga Papaemmanouil
PhD, Brown University
Assistant Professor, Computer Science
Volen 214
781-736-2716
papaemmanouil@brandeis.edu
website

Distributed data management, databases, cloud computing, stream processing

jordan

Jordan Pollack
PhD, University of Illinois
Professor and Chairman, Computer Science
Volen 213
781-736-2713
pollack@brandeis.edu
website

Artificial Intelligence, neural networks, machine learning, evolutionary computation. artificial life

james

James Pustejovsky
PhD, University of Massachusetts, Amherst
TJX Feldberg Professor of Computer Science
Volen 258
(781) 736-2709
jamesp@cs.brandeis.edu
website

Theoretical and computational linguistics, artificial intelligence and machine learning, corpus linguistics and annotation, lexical semantics, temporal and spatial reasoning

pito

R. Pito Salas
BA, Brandeis University
Associate Professor of the Practice of Computer Science
Volen 134
617-388-6367
rpsalas@brandeis.edu

Entrepreneurship, software development methodologies, large-scale software systems architectures, user interface, user experience

liuba

Liuba Shrira
PhD, Technion - Israel Institute of Technology
Professor, Computer Science
Volen 260
781-736-2704
liuba@brandeis.edu
website

Distributed systems, reliable and scalable storage systems

jim

Jim Storer
PhD, Princeton University
Professor, Computer Science
Volen 254
781-736-2714
storer@brandeis.edu
website

Computer algorithms, data compression, communications and archiving (including text, images, video and multi-media), image retrieval and classification, object recognition and parallel computing.

nianwen xue

Nianwen Bert Xue
PhD, University of Delaware
Associate Professor, Computer Science
Volen 253
(781) 736-2728
xuen@brandeis.edu
website

Computational linguistics, Chinese language processing, semantic role labeling, machine translation and linguistic annotation, including Chinese Treebank, Chinese Proposition Bank, OntoNotes

Instructors and Visiting Faculty

  Faculty / Contact  Areas of Expertise

peter

Peter Anick
Ph.D., Brandeis University
Lecturer
Volen 256
(781) 736-2726
panick@brandeis.edu

Information retrieval; information extraction; natural language processing; medical informatics.

keith plaster

Keith Plaster
J.D., Georgetown University
M.A., Harvard University
Ph.D. Candidate, Harvard University
Lecturer, Language and Linguistics
Volen 124
(781) 736-2726
kplaster@brandeis.edu
website

Phonological theory; historical linguistics; morphology; heritage linguistics.

mark

Marc Verhagen
Ph.D., Brandeis University
Senior Research Scientist
Volen 216
(781) 736-2745
marc@cs.brandeis.edu

Natural language processing; computational linguistics; corpus annotation; temporal relation identification; web service platforms for natural language processing.

wellner

Ben Wellner
Ph.D., Brandeis University
Lecturer
Volen 139
(781) 736-2726
wellner@cs.brandeis.edu

Machine learning; computational linguistics; statistical natural language processing.

STAFF

TBA
Department Administrator
Volen 262
(781) 736-2701
maf@brandeis.edu

anne Anne Gudaitis
Graduate Program Coordinator
Volen 262
(781) 736-2723
gudaitis@brandeis.edu
chris

Chris Page
Chief Systems Administrator
Volen 125
(781) 736-2717
cpage@brandeis.edu