Faculty

Mathematics Department Faculty

Current Faculty


Mark Adler Adler, Mark A.
Goldsmith 316
(781) 736-3055
adler@brandeis.edu
Professor of Mathematics
Analysis, differential equations; completely integrable systems 
Bellaiche Bellaïche, Joël   
Goldsmith 220
(781) 736-3057
jbellaic@brandeis.edu
Professor of Mathematics
Number theory
bernardi Bernardi, Olivier
Goldsmith 301
(781) 736-3061
bernardi@brandeis.edu
Assistant Professor of Mathematics
Combinatorics and Probability
Charney Charney, Ruth
Goldsmith 304
(781) 736-3071
charney@brandeis.edu
Professor of Mathematics
Geometric group theory, topology
Cherveny Cherveny, Luke
Goldsmith 303
(781) 736-3068
cherveny@brandeis.edu
Instructor in Mathematics
Calabi-Yau geometry and mirror symmetry


Gessel Gessel, Ira M.
Goldsmith 312
(781) 736-3060
gessel@brandeis.edu
Undergraduate Advising Head, Berenson Professor of Mathematics
Combinatorics
Igusa Igusa, Kiyoshi
Goldsmith 305
(781) 736-3062
igusa@brandeis.edu
Graduate Advising Head, Professor of Mathematics
Geometric topology; homological algebra
Kleinbock Kleinbock, Dmitry
Goldsmith 207
(781) 736-3059
kleinboc@brandeis.edu
ChairProfessor of Mathematics 
Dynamics; Lie groups; number theory
Lian Lian, Bong
Goldsmith 314
(781) 736-3069
lian@brandeis.edu
Professor of Mathematics
Representation theory; Calabi-Yau geometry; string theory
lipsett Lipsett, Roger
Goldsmith 105
(781) 736-3070
lipsett@brandeis.edu
Lecturer in Mathematics
Algebraic number theory, Combinatorics
mayer Mayer, Alan
Goldsmith 302
(781) 736-3066
mayer@brandeis.edu
Professor of Mathematics
Classical algebraic geometry; commutative algebra
Parker Parker, Susan
Goldsmith 114
(781) 736-3053
parker@brandeis.edu
Professor of Mathematics and Elementary Mathematics Coordinator
Combinatorics
Daniel Ruberman Ruberman, Daniel
Goldsmith 310
(781) 736-3074
ruberman@brandeis.edu
Professor of Mathematics
Geometric topology; gauge theory
souroush Soroush, Masoud
Goldsmith 204
(781) 736-3063
soroush@brandeis.edu
FRG Postdoctoral fellow
Mirror Symmetry, Topological Strings, Knot Theory
torrey Torrey, Rebecca
Goldsmith 222
(781) 736-3054
rtorrey@brandeis.edu
Assistant Professor of Mathematics
Number theory
erickson Wang Erickson, Carl
Goldsmith 206
(781) 736-3072
cwe@brandeis.edu
Instructor in Mathematics
Number Theory



Emeritus Faculty

Brown, Edgar
Goldsmith 221
(781) 736-3058
brown@brandeis.edu
Professor Emeritus of Mathematics
Algebraic Topology: manifolds, cobordism, surgery, homotopy theory
Buchsbaum, David
Goldsmith 221
(781) 736-3058
buchsbau@brandeis.edu
Professor Emeritus of Mathematics
Commutative algebra; homological algebra; representation theory
Levine, Harold L.
Professor Emeritus of Mathematics
Differential topology; singularity theory
Monsky, Paul
Goldsmith 313
(781) 736-3067
monsky@brandeis.edu
Professor Emeritus of Mathematics
Number theory; arithmetic algebraic geometry; commutative algebra
Palais, Richard
palais@brandeis.edu
Professor Emeritus of Mathematics
Nonlinear partial differential equations; calculus of variations in geometry and mathematical physics; transformation groups
Schwarz, Gerry
Goldsmith 208
(781) 736-3064
schwarz@brandeis.edu
Professor Emeritus of Mathematics
Algebraic groups; transformation groups
Van Moerbeke, Pierre
Goldsmith 315
(781) 736-3073
vanmoerb@brandeis.edu
Professor Emeritus of Mathematics
Stochastic processes; Korteweg-deVries equation; Toda lattices