Faculty

mathdept2015

Current Faculty


Mark Adler Adler, Mark A.
Goldsmith 316
(781) 736-3055
adler@brandeis.edu
Professor of Mathematics
Analysis, Differential Equations, Completely Integrable Systems 
Bellaiche Bellaïche, Joël   
Goldsmith 220
(781) 736-3057
jbellaic@brandeis.edu
Graduate Advising Head, Professor of Mathematics
Number Theory

bernardi Bernardi, Olivier
Goldsmith 301
(781) 736-3061
bernardi@brandeis.edu
Assistant Professor of Mathematics
Combinatorics, Probability
blaier

Blaier, Netanel
Goldsmith 208
(781) 736-3064
nblaier@brandeis.edu

Postdoctoral Fellow
Symplectic geometry, Mirror symmetry
bourla Bourla, Avraham
Goldsmith 205
(781) 736-3056
abourla@brandeis.edu
Lecturer in Mathematics
Charney Charney, Ruth
Goldsmith 304
(781) 736-3071
charney@brandeis.edu
Undergraduate Advising Head (spring),
Professor of Mathematics
Geometric Group Theory, Topology
huangan Huang, An
Goldsmith 315
(781) 736-3073
anhuang@brandeis.edu

Assistant Professor of Mathematics
Algebraic Geometry and Graph Theory

Igusa Igusa, Kiyoshi
Goldsmith 305
(781) 736-3062
igusa@brandeis.edu
Professor of Mathematics
Undergraduate Advising Head (fall) Homological Algebra, Quivers, Topology of Cluster Categories
galeb Kadic-Galeb, Aida
Goldsmith 221
(781) 736-3070
agaleb@brandeis.edu
Adjunct Professor of Mathematics
Kleinbock Kleinbock, Dmitry
Goldsmith 207
(781) 736-3059
kleinboc@brandeis.edu
Professor of Mathematics
Dynamics, Lie Groups, Number Theory

Lian Lian, Bong
Goldsmith 314
(781) 736-3069
lian@brandeis.edu
Professor of Mathematics
Representation Theory, Calabi-Yau Geometry, String Theory
matveev Matveev, Konstantin
Goldsmith 204
(781) 736-307263
kmatveev@brandeis.edu

Instructor in Mathematics
Probability and Algebraic Combinatorics
mayer Mayer, Alan
Goldsmith 302
(781) 736-3066
mayer@brandeis.edu
Professor of Mathematics
Classical Algebraic Geometry, Commutative Algebra
merri Merrill, Keith
Goldsmith 303
(781)736-3068
merrill@brandeis.edu
Lecturer in Mathematics 
Offen, Omer
Goldsmith 206
(781)736-3072
omer.offen@gmail.com

Visiting Associate Professor of Mathematics
Number Theory and Representation Theory
peretti Peretti, Gail
Goldsmith 221
(781) 736-3070
gperetti@brandeis.edu
Adjunct Associate Professor of Mathematics
arunima ray Ray, Arunima
Goldsmith 205
(781) 736-3056
aruray@brandeis.edu
Instructor in Mathematics
Knot Theory, Low-Dimensional Topology
Daniel Ruberman Ruberman, Daniel
Goldsmith 310
(781) 736-3074
ruberman@brandeis.edu
Chair, Professor of Mathematics
Geometric Topology, Gauge Theory
torrey Torrey, Rebecca
Goldsmith 222
(781) 736-3054
rtorrey@brandeis.edu
Assistant Professor of Mathematics
Number Theory, Elementary Mathematics Coordinator


Emeriti Faculty


Brown, Edgar
Goldsmith 221
(781) 736-3058
brown@brandeis.edu
Professor Emeritus of Mathematics
Algebraic Topology: Manifolds, Cobordism, Surgery, Homotopy Theory
Buchsbaum, David
Goldsmith 221
(781) 736-3058
buchsbau@brandeis.edu
Professor Emeritus of Mathematics
Commutative Algebra, Homological Algebra, Representation Theory
Gessel, Ira
Goldsmith 312
(781) 736-3060
gessel@brandeis.edu
Professor Emeritus of Mathematics
Combinatorics
Levine, Harold L.
Professor Emeritus of Mathematics
Differential Topology, Singularity Theory
Monsky, Paul
Goldsmith 313
(781) 736-3067
monsky@brandeis.edu
Professor Emeritus of Mathematics
Number Theory, Arithmetic Algebraic Geometry, Commutative Algebra
Palais, Richard
palais@brandeis.edu
Professor Emeritus of Mathematics
Nonlinear Partial Differential Equations, Calculus of Variations in Geometry and Mathematical Physics, Transformation Groups
Parker, Susan
Goldsmith 114
(781) 736-3033
parker@brandeis.edu

Professor Emerita of Mathematics
Combinatorics, Elementary Education
Schwarz, Gerry
Goldsmith 208
(781) 736-3064
schwarz@brandeis.edu
Professor Emeritus of Mathematics
Algebraic Groups, Transformation Groups
Van Moerbeke, Pierre
Goldsmith 315
(781) 736-3073
vanmoerb@brandeis.edu
Professor Emeritus of Mathematics
Stochastic Processes, Korteweg-deVries Equation, Toda Lattices