Each week graduate students have the opportunity to present and discuss some of their recent work. Presentations are held at least monthly and as often as weekly, and they typically last one to two hours.

2014-2015 Speaker Series

Thomas Kirkpatrick
“On Rule and Self-Rule: Defining Power and Autonomy”
Friday, September 5, 2 - 4 p.m.

Robert Long
"How Wishful Seeing Is Not Like Wishful Thinking"
Friday, October 3, 2 - 4 p.m.

Tyler Holbrook
"Moral Relativism, Consistency, and Condemnation"
Friday, October 10, 2 - 4 p.m.

Max Lewis
"Are Bad Intentions Direct Deontic Difference-Makers?"
Friday, October 17, 2 - 4 p.m.

Rachel Katler
Topic: Burge, perception, and smell
Friday, October 31, 2 - 4 p.m

Kirra Hyde
"Constancy and Objectivity"
Friday, November 7, 2 - 4 p.m

Alyssa Colby
Topic: Gratitude, agency, and dependence
Friday, November 14, 2 - 4 p.m.

Eric O'Neill
Topic: Kant, moral worth, and emotion
Friday, November 21, 2 - 4 p.m.

Ethan Landes
"When Should We Engage Dissident Theorists?"
Tuesday, February 23, 9 - 11 AM

Nick Verrastro
"Toleration: An Epistemological Defense."
Tuesday, March 17, 9 - 11 AM

Aarthy Vaidyanathan
"An Alternative Criterion for Limiting Scientists' Engagement with Dissent."
Tuesday, March 24, 6:30 - 8:30 PM

Brett Chance
“Pretense, Reference, and Modal Hallucination.”
Friday, March 27, 9:30 - 11:30 AM

William Edgecomb
“Is the Mind Massively Modular?”
Tuesday, March 31, 9 - 11 AM

Calvin Chan
"Rawls's Original Position and the Ambition for Neutrality"
Thursday, April 2, 9 - 11 AM

Nelson Hosley
Topic: Philosophy of Social Science
Tuesday, April 14, 6:30 - 8:30 PM

Michael Dale
"The Normative Significance of the Neural Processing Underlying Moral Judgments"
Friday, April 17, 10:30 - 12:30 PM

Samuel Nighman
Topic: Epistemology of Disagreement
Saturday, April 18, 1 - 3 PM

Kyle O’Dwyer
“Sources of Modality and Their Epistemic Consequences.”
Tuesday, April 21, 6:30 - 8:30 PM

Aznavur Dustmamatov
“Time, Possibility, and the New.”
Tuesday, April 28, 6:30 - 8:30 PM