Professor Kate Moran has won a Humboldt Foundation Fellowship, which will fund a leave from Brandeis so that she can focus exclusively on her research for 18 months.  She will spend her leave in Germany from the start of Spring 2015 through the 2015-2016 Academic year.  This is a prestigious and highly competitive award--congratulations, Kate!

Kathleen A. Moran

Professor Marion Smiley was recently awarded the Jeanette Lerman-Neubauer '69 Prize for Excellence in Teaching and Mentoring. This prize honors the individual  who is involved in the cocurricular and extracurricular life of the campus, and more importantly, has had a significant impact on students' lives as an exceptional teacher, mentor, adviser and friend.

Marion Smiley

On Leave Fall 2014 -Spring 2015

Professor Berislav Marušić, who won a Humboldt Fellowship in the Fall of 2012 will continue his research for another year at the Institute of Philosophy at the University of Leipzig in Germany. He is finishing his book, Against the Evidence

Also on leave for another year is Professor Jennifer Marušić, who was awarded the Marie Curie Fellowship in the Fall of 2012 for her research in the history of philosophy.


Jerry Samet
Associate Professor

Alan Berger
Associate Professor
Minors Advisor

Jeremy Fantl
Visiting Associate Professor
Acting Director of Graduate Studies
Colloquia Chair

Robert Greenberg

Eli Hirsch
Charles Goldman Professor of Philosophy
Undergraduate Advisor and Study Abroad Liaison
On Leave Spring 2016

Berislav Marušić
Assistant Professor
On Leave Fall 2013 - Spring 2015

Jennifer Smalligan Marušić
Assistant Professor
On Leave Fall 2013 - Spring 2015

Kate Moran
Assistant Professor
On Leave Spring 2015 - Spring 2016

Tzofit Ofengenden
2014-2016 Visiting Scholar

Marion Smiley
J.P. Morgan Chase Professor of Ethics
Honors Advisor

Andreas Teuber
Associate Professor

Palle Yourgrau
Harry A. Wolfson Professor of Philosophy

Affiliated Faculty

Richard Gaskins
Professor of American Studies and Director, Legal Studies Program

Jon Levisohn
Associate Professor and Jack, Joseph and Morton Mandel Chair of Jewish Educational Thought
Director of the Jack, Joseph and Morton Mandel Center for Studies in Jewish Education

Eugene Sheppard
Associate Professor of Modern Jewish History and Thought
Director of History of Ideas Program


Julie Seeger
Academic Administrator