Dark Universe Seminar Series

This seminar series is sponsored by the Dark Energy/Dark Matter group, jointly hosted by Profs. Marcelle Soares-Santos and Bjoern Penning. Seminars are held on Thursdays, 4 pm, Abelson 333 unless otherwise noted.

Fall 2018 Seminars


Date

Speaker

Title

Thursday, August 30

Dark Universe Group (Brandeis)

Dark Universe Group Symposium

Thursday, September 6

Philipp Roloff (CERN)

Future Accelerators and Doing Physics With Them

Thursday, September 13

Lisa Barsotti (MIT)

The LIGO instruments towards the next Observing Run and Beyond

Thursday, September 20

No seminar

Thursday, September 27

Matthew Szydagis (University at Albany)

TBD

*Wednesday, October 3

Ian dell'Antonio (Brown University)

TBD

Thursday, October 11

Tom McClintock (BNL)

TBD

Thursday, October 18

TBD

TBD

Thursday, October 25

TBD

TBD

Thursday, November 1

Scott Hertel (UMass Amherst)

TBD

Thursday, November 8

Minfang Yeh (BNL)

TBD

Thursday, November 15

Felix Kling (UC Irvine)

TBD

Thursday, November 22

No seminar (Thanksgiving)

Thursday, November 29

TBD

TBD

Thursday, December 6

TBD

TBD


Spring 2018 Seminars


Date Speaker Title
Thursday, February 15 Sam McDermott (FNAL) Is Self-Interacting Dark Matter Undergoing Dark Fusion?
Thursday, February 22 No seminar (mid-term break)
Thursday, March 1 Justo Martin-Albo (Harvard) The Search for Neutrinoless Double Beta Decay
Thursday, March 8 Hsin-Yu Chen (Harvard) Here Comes the Light -- GW170817 and Gravitational-Wave Precision Cosmology
Thursday, March 15 No seminar (SnowPAC)
Thursday, March 22 Albert de Roeck (CERN) Searches for Long Lived Particles at the Large Hadron Collider
Thursday, March 29 Sally Shaw (UCSB) Final Results of the LUX Direct Dark Matter Search
Thursday, April 5 No seminar (Spring Break)
Thursday, April 12 Albion Lawrence (Brandeis) Effective field theory for large-field inflation
Thursday, April 19 No seminar (LZ collaboration week)
Wednesday, April 25 Aran Garcia-Bellido (Rochester) Top Gear at the LHC