Spring 2014 Colloquia



Tuesday, January 14

Open

________________________________________

Tuesday, January 21

Open

_________________________________________

Tuesday, January 28

Open

_________________________________________

Tuesday, February 4

Veronika Hubeny, Durham University
From Black Holes to Fluid Holograms

This talk gives an overview of the Fluid/Gravity correspondence, which was developed 6 years ago in the context of the gauge/gravity duality.  Mathematically, it posits that Einstien's equations of general relativity (with negative cosmological constant) in d+1 dimensions capture the (generalised) Navier-Stokes' equations of fluid dynamics in d dimen- sions. In particular, given an arbitrary fluid dynamical solution, we can systematically construct a corresponding black hole spacetime whose properties mimi that of the fluid flow. After reviewing the basic indredients, motivated partly by special properties of black holes, I will talk about the construction and implications of this remarkable correspondence.

__________________________________________

Tuesday, February 11

Open

___________________________________________

Tuesday, February 18

No colloquium. Midterm Recess.

_________________________________________

Tuesday, February 25

Open
_________________________________________

Tuesday, March 4

No colloquium. APS Meeting.

__________________________________________

Tuesday, March 11

Eisenbud Lecture Series in Mathematics and Physics:
Cumrun Vafa, Harvard University

___________________________________________


Tuesday, March 18

Open

__________________________________________

Tuesday, March 25

Open

__________________________________________

Tuesday, April 1

Open

__________________________________________


Tuesday, April 8

Daniel I. Goldman, Georgia Institute of Technology

__________________________________________


Tuesday, April 15

No colloquium. Spring Recess.


__________________________________________


Tuesday, April 22

No colloquium. Spring Recess.


__________________________________________

Tuesday, April 29

Open