Some of our faculty books

Civic Engagement

Carmen Sirianni

1
                   Wendy Cadge

2
                   Peter Conrad

3
        David Cunningham

4
               Gordie Fellman

5
                 Karen Hansen

7
                       Gila Hayim

8
                     Laura Miller

9
                   Sara Shostak

10
              Carmen Sirianni

11
                 Ana Villalobos

12
         Shulamit Reinharz

15
                     George Ross

Faculty


faculty

(L to R) Cheryl Hansen, Mitra Shavarini, David Cunningham, Wendy Cadge, Carmen Sirianni, Sara Shostak, Ana Villalobos, Laura Miller, Goldon Fellman, Peter Conrad, Kristen Lucken, Judy Hanley
Not pictured: Karen Hansen, Gila Hayim, Shulamit Reinharz, Chandler Rosenberger

David Cunningham

David Cunningham
Department Chair
dcunning@brandeis.edu

Expertise: Social movements/collective action, community structure, organizations, quantitative inquiry, youth culture.

Karen Hansen

Karen V. Hansen
Undergraduate Advising Head
khansen@brandeis.edu


Expertise: Gender, feminist theory, sociology of families, historical sociology, networks and communities.

miller

Laura J. Miller
Director of Graduate Studies
lamiller@brandeis.edu

Expertise: Sociology of culture, mass media, consumption and marketing, urban and suburban studies.

Wendy Cadge Wendy Cadge
wcadge@brandeis.edu

Expertise: Sociology of Religion, culture, health and medicine, immigration, gender, sexuality, organizations, research methods.

Peter Conrad Peter Conrad
conrad@brandeis.edu

Expertise: Medical sociology, deviance, qualitative research methods.

Gordon Fellman Gordon Fellman
fellman@brandeis.edu

Expertise: Peace, conflict, and coexistence studies; empowerment, social class, Marx and Freud, psychoanalytic sociology, masculinities, Israeli-Palestinian confrontation.

Shulamit Reinharz Shulamit Reinharz
reinharz@brandeis.edu

Expertise: Qualitative research methods, feminist research, Jewish women's studies, social psychology, group dynamics.

Chandler Rosenberger Chandler Rosenberger
crosen@brandeis.edu

Expertise: Nationalism, ethnicity, sociology of culture, sociology of religion, political dissent, terrorism, modern European politics.

Sara Shostak

Sara Shostak

sshostak@brandeis.edu

Expertise: Sociology of health and illness, science and technology studies, body and society, sociology and bioethics, environmental health and justice, qualitative research methods.

Carmen Sirianni Carmen Sirianni
sirianni@brandeis.edu

Expertise: Political sociology, community and civic democracy, organizations, public policy for democracy, work.

Ana Villalobos Ana Villalobos
anavilla@brandeis.edu

Expertise: Motherhood, Gender & Work, Gender & Education, Identities, Presentation of Self.

Affiliated Faculty

Charles Kadushin

Charles Kadushin, Visiting Research Professor of Sociology
kadushin@brandeis.edu

Expertise: Networks, sociology of religion, survey research and the combination of sociological theory and methods.

Ted Sasson Theodore Sasson, Visiting Research Professor of Sociology
sassont@brandeis.edu

Expertise: Political sociology with an emphasis on political discourse, social problems and diaspora studies.

Thomas Shaprio Thomas Shapiro (The Heller School)
tshapiro@brandeis.edu

Expertise: Stratification, race, political sociology.

Marty Krauss Marty Wyngaarden Krauss (The Heller School)
krauss@brandeis.edu

Expertise: Disability policy, family caregiving, mental retardation, human services.

Emeriti

Janet Zollinger Giele Janet Zollinger Giele (Retired in 2004)
giele1@brandeis.edu

Expertise: Women's changing roles, sociology of the life course, social movements.

Brandeis seal Gila Hayim (Retired in 2014)
hayim@brandeis.edu

Expertise: Social theory, sociology of law, sociology of religion, sociology of culture, existential sociology.

George Ross George Ross (Retired in 2009)
gross@brandeis.edu

Expertise: European integration, European politics and social policy, comparative industrial relations, sociology of advanced capitalist societies researching and analyzing the development of this new Europe.