Published Articles by Faculty

Published articles by our faculty members

Some of our Faculty Books

Civic Engagement

Carmen Sirianni

1
                   Wendy Cadge

2
                   Peter Conrad

4
               Gordie Fellman

5
                 Karen Hansen

7
                       Gila Hayim

8
                     Laura Miller

9
                   Sara Shostak

10
              Carmen Sirianni

12
         Shulamit Reinharz

15
                     George Ross

Faculty


Hansen Karen V. Hansen
Chair

khansen@brandeis.edu

Expertise: Gender, feminist theory, sociology of families, historical sociology, networks and communities.

Sirianni

Carmen Sirianni
Undergraduate Advising Head

sirianni@brandeis.edu

Expertise: Political sociology, community and civic democracy, organizations, public policy for democracy, work.

miller

Laura J. Miller
Director of Graduate Studies
lamiller@brandeis.edu

Expertise: Sociology of culture, mass media, consumption and marketing, urban and suburban studies.

Wendy Cadge Wendy Cadge
wcadge@brandeis.edu

On leave academic year of 2016-2017

Expertise: Sociology of Religion, culture, health and medicine, immigration, gender, sexuality, organizations, research methods.

Peter Conrad

Peter Conrad
conrad@brandeis.edu


Expertise: Medical sociology, deviance, qualitative research methods.

Gordon Fellman Gordon Fellman
fellman@brandeis.edu

Expertise: Peace, conflict, and coexistence studies; empowerment, social class, Marx and Freud, psychoanalytic sociology, masculinities, Israeli-Palestinian confrontation.

Shulamit Reinharz Shulamit Reinharz
reinharz@brandeis.edu

Expertise: Qualitative research methods, feminist research, Jewish women's studies, social psychology, group dynamics.

Chandler Rosenberger Chandler Rosenberger
crosen@brandeis.edu

Expertise: Nationalism, ethnicity, sociology of culture, sociology of religion, political dissent, terrorism, modern European politics.

Sara Shostak

Sara Shostak
sshostak@brandeis.edu

Expertise: Sociology of health and illness, science and technology studies, body and society, sociology and bioethics, environmental health and justice, qualitative research methods.

Mike Strand

Michael J. Strand
mstrand@brandeis.edu

Expertise: Social theory, culture, morality, philosophy of social science, economic sociology

Gowri Vijayakumar Gowri Vijayakumar
gowri@brandeis.edu

Expertise: Sociology of gender and sexuality, social movements, labor and labor movements, development, HIV/AIDS, qualitative research, South Asia, sub-Saharan Africa.

Derron Wallace Derron Wallace
dwallace@brandeis.edu

Expertise: Sociology of education, race and ethnicity, immigration, social class, masculinities, inequality and identities.

Affiliated Faculty

David Cunningham

David Cunningham Visiting Research Professor of Sociology
dcunning@brandeis.edu

Expertise: Social movements/collective action, community structure, organizations, quantitative inquiry, youth culture.

Charles Kadushin

Charles Kadushin, Visiting Research Professor of Sociology
kadushin@brandeis.edu

Expertise: Networks, sociology of religion, survey research and the combination of sociological theory and methods.

Ted Sasson Theodore Sasson, Visiting Research Professor of Sociology
sassont@brandeis.edu

Expertise: Political sociology with an emphasis on political discourse, social problems and diaspora studies.

Thomas Shaprio Thomas Shapiro (The Heller School)
tshapiro@brandeis.edu

Expertise: Stratification, race, political sociology.

Marty Krauss Marty Wyngaarden Krauss (The Heller School)
krauss@brandeis.edu

Expertise: Disability policy, family caregiving, mental retardation, human services.

Affiliated Adjunct Faculty

Grosglik

Rafi Grosglik

grosglik@brandeis.edu

Expertise:  sociology of food, cultural globalization, culture, consumption, environment, Israeli society.

Lucken

Kristen Lucken

klucken@brandeis.edu

Expertise: Immigration, ethnic and religious identity, nationalism, sociology of religion

Emeriti

Janet Zollinger Giele Janet Zollinger Giele (Retired in 2004)
giele1@brandeis.edu

Expertise: Women's changing roles, sociology of the life course, social movements.

Brandeis seal Gila Hayim (Retired in 2014)
hayim@brandeis.edu

Expertise: Social theory, sociology of law, sociology of religion, sociology of culture, existential sociology.

George Ross George Ross (Retired in 2009)
gross@brandeis.edu

Expertise: European integration, European politics and social policy, comparative industrial relations, sociology of advanced capitalist societies researching and analyzing the development of this new Europe.