Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Steering (DEIS) Committee

In March 2016, the committee unanimously voted to change its name to the Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Steering Committee (DEIS Committee). By naming ourselves DEIS, we want to convey that diversity, equity and inclusivity are values central to Brandeis. 

2016/17 Members

  • Lisa M. Lynch, Provost (chair)


  • Daniel Bergstresser, International Business School
  • David Ellenson, Near Eastern and Judaic Studies/Schusterman Center for Israel Studies
  • Charles Golden, Anthropology
  • Robin Feuer Miller, German, Russian and Asian Languages and Literature


  • Jamele Adams, Student Life
  • Andrew Flagel, Students and Enrollment
  • Peter Giumette, Office of the President
  • Monique Gnanaratnam, Intercultural Center
  • Kim Godsoe, Office of the Provost
  • Michael LaFarr, Brandeis Counseling Center
  • Marina Offner, Admissions
  • Sandy Resnick, Corporate and Foundation Relations, ex-officio
  • Madeleine Lopez, Intercultural Center
  • Zanefa Walsh, Hadassah-Brandeis Institute


  • New student representatives to be added for 16/17