2016-2017 Experiential Learning Committee Members


Aparna Baskaran, Physics
Daniel Bergstresser, Economics
Daniel Breen, American Studies, Legal Studies
Joel Christensen, Classical Studies
Tim Hickey, Computer Science
Thomas King, English
Xiwen Lu, GRALL
Becci Torrey, Math
Joseph Wardwell, Fine Arts


Michael Dettelbach, Corporate and Foundation Relations
Andrea Dine, Hiatt Career Center
Alisha Cardwell, Office of Study Abroad
James Reed, Department of Community Living
Jon Schelsinger, Hiatt Career Center
Elizabeth Teurlay, Academic Services


Michelle Dang, '18
Vineet Vishwanath Vimal, '18

Ex Officio

Elaine Wong, Senior Associate Dean of Arts and Sciences


The Experiential Learning Committee was formed as part of the Learning by Doing initiative and is chaired by Daniel Langenthal, Director of Experiential Learning and Teaching. The committee discusses how best to expand and improve existing experiential learning opportunities, in addition to developing new opportunities and programs. This is a very diverse committee, drawing from a variety of disciplines, departments, programs and offices across campus.

Highlights from the 2014-2016 ELC accomplishments:

  • Approved and implemented new process for Experiential Learning Course Designation
  • Revised Experiential Learning Practicum Course Requirements, which were approved by the Undergraduate Curriculum Committee (UCC)
  • Advocated for EL in many departments and disciplines
  • Supported EL teaching workshops
  • Collaborated with the Office of Study Abroad, the Department of Community Service and Hiatt Career Center on new programming and practicum opportunities
  • Supported interdisciplinary research and teaching in STEM fields

Faculty and students that are interested in serving on the Experiential Learning Committee are encouraged to contact Daniel Langenthal to discuss membership.