

January 20, 2022 Board of Directors

President Jane Weitzman

Dear Sylvia,

Congratulations! On behalf of the Board of Directors of the Jewish Book Council, I am happy to inform you that, out of our many submissions, your book:

> Belonging and Betrayal: How Jews Made the Art World Modern

> > by

Charles Dellheim

has been selected as a finalist of the

2021 NATIONAL JEWISH BOOK AWARD in the category of

## History Gerrard and Ella Berman Memorial Award

Your book now joins the ranks of the hundreds of well-respected, classic Jewish books that have been National Jewish Book Award finalists. The National Jewish Book Awards, now in its 71st year, is the longest-running program of its kind in North America.

We encourage you to publicize this honor as soon as possible. To assist you, attached is a National Jewish Book Award Finalist seal, prepared by the Jewish Book Council, to print on your book. The seal can be used for digital or print purposes. Publishers indicate these seals are an effective sales tool.

We recognize and appreciate your editorial decision to publish a book of such high quality; one that enlarges the whole enterprise of Jewish scholarship and contributes to informed living, understanding, and entertainment for the entire English-reading world.

Sincerely yours,

Naomi Firestone-Teeter

**Executive Director** 

Mar fu-Tru

Vice Presidents Joy Greenberg Carol Levin Lenore J. Weitzman Treasurer Alan Kadish Secretary Elisa Spungen Bildner President Emerita **Edith Everett** 

**Executive Director** Emerita Carolyn Starman Hessel Honorary Chairman of the Board

Henry Everett (z"l)

Tracy Brown William Daroff Mimi S. Frank Blu Greenberg Miriam Holmes Howard F. Jaeckel Altie Karper Carmel R. Krauss **Ruth Legow** Judith Lieberman Andrea Miller Deborah Miller Dana Raucher Josh Rolnick A.A. Steinberger Lilian Stern Joseph Telushkin Alan J. Wiener

**Executive Director** Naomi Firestone-Teeter Associate Director Miri Pomerantz Dauber **Executive Editor** Carol Kaufman JBC Network Director Suzanne Swift

Etta Zimmerman

Program Director Evie Saphire-Bernstein Editorial Director Becca Kantor

Digital Content and Marketing Manager

Simona Zaretksv Development

Coordinator Megan Reynolds Program Associate

Arielle Landau Children's and Young Adult Editor Michal Hoschander Malen