Sports in Brief

Julian Cardillo '14, Dara Spital '15, Alec Spivack '15, Joe Eisenbies '13
Mike Lovett
Julian Cardillo '14, Dara Spital '15, Alec Spivack '15, Joe Eisenbies '13

Fencers Capture New England Crown

The fencing team earned its first New England Intercollegiate Fencing Championship title since 1988 in a home meet in February. The men easily outdistanced second-place Sacred Heart by 20 points, and the women edged Boston College by two. Coach Bill Shipman guided three winning squads: men’s foil, women’s foil and men’s sabre. Julian Cardillo ’14 was the individual men’s foil champion. Adam Mandel ’15 won the men’s sabre competition. Noah Berman ’15 and Jess Ochs-Willard ’15 finished second in foil and sabre, respectively. Caroline Mattos ’16 was the women’s foil runner-up.

Women’s Soccer Reaches Elite Eight

The women’s soccer team, coached by Denise Dallamora, had its best year ever, reaching the Elite Eight of the NCAA Division III Tournament for the first time and tying a school mark for wins in a season (16-5-2). The team was led by All-University Athletic Association and All-America forward Dara Spital ’15, a transfer from Division I Central Florida, who finished with 14 goals and 5 assists (33 points). Alec Spivack ’15 was a UAA second-team selection, splitting time in the midfield and on defense.

Men’s Soccer Scores Strong Season

The men’s soccer team had its most successful season in decades, reaching the Sweet 16 of the NCAA Division III Tournament and finishing with a record of 18-3-1. It was the furthest longtime coach Mike Coven’s team had advanced in the NCAAs since reaching the final in 1985. The Judges were led by University Athletic Association MVP and All-American Sam Ocel ’13, a midfielder who totaled 34 points 
(13 goals, 8 assists). Coven and assistants Gabe Margolis, Tim Murray and Ari Silver ’12 shared UAA Coaching Staff of the Year honors. Along with Ocel, back Joe 
Eisenbies ’13 made the All-UAA first team. Forward Lee Russo ’13 and midfielder Kyle Feather ’14 were named to the second team. Coven was also named National Soccer Coaches Association of America New England Division III Coach of the Year.

UAA Silver Anniversary Teams Named

A total of 28 Brandeis student-athletes were named to the University Athletic Association Silver Anniversary teams, which honor the best performers over 
the league’s first 25 years:

Women’s soccer: Carmen Bumgarner ’91, Kristi Malen ’94, 
Pamela Vaughan ’90 and Kristin Woodcock ’97.

Men’s soccer: Ken Hannan ’95, Matt Murphy ’00, Michael Novaria ’91 
and Keveral “Shelton” Stewart ’06.

Men’s cross-country: Matthew Griego ’04, Mark Harrington ’89, 
Aaron Holley ’97, Rusty Nelson ’00 and Robert Olson ’99.

Women’s cross-country: Chrissy Bandzul ’94, Heather Davidson ’02, 
Mariko Tansey Holbrook ’04, Sarah Lozano ’96, Caitlin Malloy ’04, 
Jean Olds ’92 and Theresa Patten ’94.

Women’s basketball: Jaime Capra ’08, Jessica Chapin ’10, 
Danielle Fitzpatrick ’04, Caitlin Malcolm ’07 and Racheal Perry ’92.

Men’s basketball: Steve DeLuca ’08, MA’09; Bryan Lambert ’05; and 
Rashad Williams ’02.

comments powered by Disqus