Brandeis Board of Trustees elects new chair

Perry Traquina, incoming chair of the Brandeis University Board of Trustees, left, and Malcolm Sherman, the outgoing chair.

At a meeting held today, the Brandeis University Board of Trustees elected Perry M. Traquina ’78 chair for a three-year term, effective May 19, 2013.

Traquina (pronounced tra-QUEE-nah), who is the chairman and chief executive officer of Wellington Management Company LLP, will succeed Malcolm Sherman, the philanthropist and veteran business executive who was elected board chair in 2007.

“We are grateful to Mal Sherman for his leadership in a challenging economic environment.  He has been a true partner as I assumed the presidency of Brandeis, helping spearhead a governance review and the implementation of new governance rules.  His leadership has been a steady presence during a time of transition and I want to thank him for everything he has done for me and for Brandeis,” said President Frederick M. Lawrence.

Traquina is a son of Portuguese immigrants, who graduated summa cum laude from Brandeis in 1978.  As an undergraduate, he studied at the London School of Economics and was elected to Phi Beta Kappa. He earned his M.B.A. from Harvard Business School in 1980.

President Lawrence noted, “Perry Traquina will continue a tradition of strong board leadership at Brandeis, combining the perspective of a seasoned and visionary business leader with the passion of a Brandeis alumnus.  We are all extremely enthusiastic about Perry’s leadership.”

At Wellington Management, Traquina oversees an investment management firm with over $750 billion in client assets under management and 2,000 employees worldwide. The company is headquartered in Boston and has 11 other global offices.

Traquina is a chartered financial analyst, a member of the Association for Investment Management and Research and a trustee of the Winsor School in Boston. He was elected to the Brandeis Board of Trustees in 2002 and has served as co-chair of the investment committee and as a member of the executive committee. 

Categories: Alumni, General

Return to the BrandeisNOW homepage