MAT Faculty and Staff

View by Concentration:
Public Elementary
Secondary
Faculty Contact Information
Area of Expertise
Leandra Elion

Leandra Elion

lelion@brandeis.edu

Leandra is a Lecturer in Education. She received an MS in special education from Long Island University in New York and an MEd in Reading from Salem State College.  She has consulted on special education issues to day schools and the Bureau of Education of Greater Boston.
sharon feiman nemser

Sharon Feiman-Nemser

Mandel Center
(781) 736-2946
snemser@brandeis.edu
Sharon Feiman-Nemser, Mandel Professor of Jewish Education at Brandeis University, is the Director of the Mandel Center for Studies in Jewish Education. Before coming to Brandeis in 2001, she served on the faculties of The University of Chicago and Michigan State University where she directed innovative teacher education programs and conducted research on teacher education and teacher learning.

Tom Heyman

trheyman@brandeis.edu
Tom Heyman is a Lecturer in Education. He teaches Inquiry-Based Science Teaching and Learning.
Shoshana Jacobs

Shoshana Jacobs

sjacobs1@brandeis.edu
Shoshana is currently a Literacy Coach at the Conservatory Lab Charter School in Brighton, MA.  Shoshana has been coaching and mentoring teachers for the past eleven years in the Boston Public Schools and in a Jewish day school setting.
O.Kent

Orit Kent

okent@brandeis.edu
Orit Kent is a Lecturer in Education and a Senior Research Associate at the Mandel Center for Studies in Jewish Education. As a teacher educator and researcher, she works with teachers on developing their approaches to teaching texts and constructing productive group learning experiences.
Noreen Leibson

Noreen Leibson

Mandel 121
(781) 736-2099
nleibson@brandeis.edu
Noreen is the DeLeT faculty leader and comes to the Mandel Center after twenty years as the Education Director at Temple Beth Abraham, a Conservative synagogue in Nashua, NH. She has also worked as an informal Jewish educator and yoetzet at Camp Ramah in New England for ten summers.
jon levisohn

Jon A. Levisohn

ASAC 330
(781) 736-2941
levisohn@brandeis.edu
Jon A. Levisohn is Associate Professor of Jewish Education in the Department of Near Eastern & Judaic Studies.  He has taught in middle school and has served as a consultant to K-8 Jewish day schools. He teaches Philosophy of Education and Philosophy of Jewish Education. His particular focus has been on the myriad ways we have of making sense of texts.  

Beth Naditch

bnaditch@brandeis.edu
Rabbi Beth Naditch is a Lecturer in Education. She teaches Jewish text as a member of the faculty of the DeLeT/MAT program.  
nili pearlmutter

Nili Pearlmutter

nilip@brandeis.edu
Nili Pearlmutter is a Lecturer in Education and Senior Education Specialist at the Mandel Center for Studies in Jewish Education.  She teaches the Fundamentals of Teaching course for the MAT/JDS-DeLeT program.  She received her B.A. in Psychology from Yale University and her Master of Science in Teaching from Wheelock College.  She taught at the elementary level in both Jewish day schools and public schools before coming to Brandeis in 2003.
Faye Ruopp

Faye Ruopp

fruopp@brandeis.edu
Faye Ruopp is a Lecturer in Education.  She teaches ED 262a - Teaching Mathematics in Elementary Classrooms.  She is also co-leader of Math and Mentoring, a cooperative project of Brandeis and the Waltham Public Schools.

Lisa Schneier

lisabs@brandeis.edu
Lisa Schneier was a high school teacher in the Boston Public Schools for 12 years. Her subject matter focus was English and writing, but she also taught basic literacy and math skills. She earned her Doctorate in Education under the supervision of Eleanor Duckworth at the Harvard Graduate School of Education. She studied Duckworth's methodology of "Critical Exploration," which was developed from the work of Jean Piaget.
francesca stark

Francesca Stark

fstark@brandeis.edu
Francesca Stark teaches in the MAT-Jewish Day School/DeLeT program:  Creating Classroom Culture. She has been a 4th grade teacher and reading specialist for the Brookline Schools since 1993. 
 Staff  Contact Information  Area of Expertise
Deb Laufer

Deb Laufer

Mandel 114
(781) 736-2081
dlaufer@brandeis.edu 

Deb Laufer is the DeLeT Program Coordinator at the Mandel Center for Studies in Jewish Education . Graduating in 2008 from Brandeis, she earned a B.A. in Sociology, concentrating in social justice and policy. As an Undergraduate, she was a Hillel leader, community adviser, student union member, and rugby team captain. Deb is excited to be working at the Mandel Center and is interested in future careers with non-profit organizations.