School Leaders

Susan J. Birren

Susan J. Birren

Dean, College of Arts and Sciences
Professor of Neurobiology
Ph.D., University of California, Los Angeles

Susan J. Birren, professor of neurobiology, became dean of the College of Arts and Sciences on July 1, 2011.

An internationally recognized researcher in developmental neurobiology who studies how developing nerve cells respond to the local environment to create the nervous system, Susan is affiliated with the National Center for Behavioral Genomics and the Volen Center for Complex Systems.

Susan is a distinguished scholar, an experienced academic leader and a talented educator. She has the wisdom to promote what is essential to each of the disciplines in the Arts and Sciences while working closely with each of the four schools, the different groups within the schools, and across disciplinary boundaries.

Susan received her Ph.D. in biological chemistry from the University of California at Los Angeles and did post-doctoral work at the California Institute of Technology, where she studied the cellular and molecular mechanisms underlying the development of the mammalian nervous system.


Marty W. KraussMarty W. Krauss

Interim Dean, Heller School for Social Policy and Management
Ph.D.'81, Brandeis University

Marty W. Krauss is the interim dean of Brandeis' Heller School for Social Policy and Management. A professor emerita at Heller, Krauss is a renowned expert in intellectual disabilities, with a focus on the impact on families, social services, and public policy of having a family member with intellectual disabilities.  She is a past director of the Starr Center for Mental Retardation and served as associate dean for faculty and academic programs at the Heller School. From 2003 to 2011, she was the provost and senior vice president for academic affairs for Brandeis.

Krauss joined the Heller faculty in 1984 and has spent her entire academic career at Brandeis. In addition to her faculty appointment, she is a member of the Heller Board of Overseers.

She is the recipient of many awards and honors, including the Joseph P. Kennedy Jr. Foundation International Award for Leadership, the Christian Pueschel Memorial Research Award of the National Down Syndrome Congress and the Distinguished Research Award of the Association for Retarded Citizens of the United States, among others. She is also a fellow of the American Association on Mental Retardation. Her contributions to Heller were recently recognized when Krauss was awarded the Heller alumni service award at Heller’s 55th anniversary celebration this past September.


bruce magidBruce R. Magid

Dean, International Business School
Martin and Ahuva Gross Chair in Financial Markets and Institutions
Ph.D., Tufts University (Fletcher School)

Bruce R. Magid has served as dean of the International Business School since August 2007.

He was previously dean of the College of Business and the founding dean of the Lucas Graduate School of Business at San José State University. Prior to joining San José State, Magid was the founding executive director of MSU Global, Michigan State University's online and global distance education business unit. He was also an adjunct professor in the department of finance at Michigan State University's Eli Broad Graduate School of Management.

Before entering academic administration, Magid provided leadership as a managing director and senior vice president at Bank of America, where he served for 21 years, managing a variety of units, including international economic policy research groups and Latin America Division corporate finance.

Magid has also formerly served as senior adviser to the minister of planning of the Republic of Venezuela and developed and taught executive education courses.

Magid holds a multidisciplinary Ph.D. in international economics, business law and comparative politics from the Fletcher School at Tufts University.


Eric Chasalow

Eric Chasalow

Dean, Graduate School of Arts and Sciences
Irving Fine Professor of Music
D.M.A., Columbia University

Eric Chasalow, an award-winning composer and the Irving Fine Professor of Music, was appointed Dean of the Graduate School of Arts and Sciences in 2014. Since becoming part of the Brandeis faculty in 1990, Eric has shared his passion for electro-acoustic and traditional music composition with the Brandeis community, serving as chair of the music department from 1996-2002.

In addition to teaching undergraduate and graduate courses in theory, composition, and electronic music, Eric serves as the director of the internationally recognized Brandeis Electro-Acoustic Music Studio (BEAMS). His reach also extends beyond the music department: Eric recently completed a two-year term as chair of the Faculty Senate and has served on both the strategic planning steering committee (2012-13) and Provost’s University Advisory Committee (2011-13).


Karen MuncasterMuncaster

Vice President, Rabb School
Ph.D., Boston College

Karen Muncaster became vice president of the Rabb School of Continuing Studies in July 2014.

Muncaster came to Brandeis University from Boston Architectural College, where she held the position of vice president for professional and continuing education. Previously, Muncaster was with Lesley University as associate vice president for academic technology and program design. Her past roles included Dean of Continuing Education at Southern New Hampshire University, where she helped launch the online education division and Middlesex Community College, first as the Director of Services for Students with Disabilities and then as the Director of Continuing Education. She has also taught high school special education classes.

Muncaster holds a Ph.D. in higher education administration from Boston College, where she focused her research on the support of part-time faculty in the academy. She also holds an M.Ed. from Tufts University and a B.S. from Indiana University. She currently serves as a commissioner for the CIHE of NEASC.