Deliberative Process


Monday, Feb. 22

  • Brandeis 2020 report released

Thursday, Feb. 25

  • UCC meeting
  • Graduate Council meeting
  • Faculty Senate meeting
  • Student Forum, 5-6:30 p.m., Olin-Sang 101
  • Graduate Student Forum, 6:30-8 p.m., Gold. 110

Thursday, March 4

  • Special Faculty Meeting

Monday, March 8

  • Provost informs the Faculty Senate of her decision

Thursday, March 11

  • Regularly scheduled Faculty Meeting

Wednesday, March 24

  • Board of Trustees meeting

Brandeis 2020

Provost's Decisions Regarding Brandeis 2020 Proposals, March 8, 2010

Committee Report, February 22, 2010

Committee Charge

At a special faculty retreat held on January 12, 2010, the faculty endorsed my establishing a new committee, to be chaired by Adam Jaffe, Dean of Arts and Sciences, that is charged with making recommendations to reduce the academic commitments within Arts and Sciences.

The Board of Trustees has asked for a specific plan regarding reductions in academic commitments for review at its March 24 meeting. In consultation with Trustee Meyer Koplow and President Jehuda Reinharz, we are working out the specific deadlines that will be needed to accomplish this mandate.

Marty Wyngaarden Krauss
Provost and Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs
January 20, 2010



Adam B. Jaffe, Dean of Arts and Sciences

CARS Committee

Steven Burg, Politics

Susan Dibble, Theater Arts

Jason Gray, Undergraduate Student

Jane Harries, Graduate Student

Timothy Hickey, Computer Science

Sarah Lamb, Anthropology

Robin Feuer Miller, German, Russian and Asian Languages and Literature

Sacha Nelson, Biology

Ilan Troen, Near Eastern and Judaic Studies

Dean’s Curriculum Committee

John Burt, English

Judith Eissenberg, Music

Greg Freeze, Dean of the Graduate School

Liz Hedstrom, Biology

Rick Parmentier, Anthropology

Elaine Wong, Senior Associate Dean for Undergraduate Education

Faculty Representatives to the Board of Trustees

Steven Burg, Politics (*)

Leslie Griffith, Biology

Susan Lanser, English

John Plotz, English

Faculty Budget Committee, Chair

Peter Conrad, Sociology


Derek Isaacowitz, Psychology

Albion Lawrence, Physics

Ibrahim Sundiata, History

(*) also on CARS Committee