Evaluative Committee

Charge to the UAC subcommittee: work closely with the VAWA writing group and evaluate three primary texts: Beyond Title 9, the Amherst Report, and the report from an external expert, Prof. Diane Rosenfeld of Harvard Law School--commissioned by the Brandeis General Counsel at the request of the writing group--consider how they might relate and apply to Brandeis, and make recommendations that will be shared first with the writing group and then with the UAC and the faculty senate.


  • Bernadette Brooten, Co-Chair
  • Michaele Whelan, Co-Chair
  • David Cunningham
  • Peter Kalb
  • Susan Lanser
  • Janet McIntosh
  • Kelley Ready

Brandeis Directory

Find a Person

Violence Against Women Act (VAWA)

Writing Committee - Department of Justice Grant


  • Bernadette Brooten (Near Eastern and Judaic Studies, Classical Studies, Women and Gender Studies, and Religious Studies)
  • Deirdre Hunter (Women’s and Gender Studies)


  • Dean Gendron (Director of Student Rights and Community Standards)
  • Sheryl Sousa (Title 9 and Director of Athletics)
  • Kim Godsoe (Dean of Academic Services)
  • Rick Silberman  (Assistant Provost)
  • Jesse Beal (Program Coordinator for Sexuality and Gender Diversity, ICC)
  • Erika Lamarre (Director of Community Living)

Other Services

  • Betty Reilly (Clery Act Compliance Officer, Public Safety)
  • Linda Shinomoto (Human Resources)


  • Caitlin Taborda

January 2013