ACADEMIC CALENDAR 1996-97

 


  Academic Calendar - Fall 1996

  Academic Calendar - Spring 1997





ACADEMIC CALENDAR FOR FALL TERM 1996*

Friday, August 23 New international progra undergraduate students arriv and attend the orientation activities.
Sunday, August 25
New undergraduate students arrive.
Tuesday, August 27
Residence halls open for returning students.
Friday-Friday,
Aug. 23 - Sept. 13
Students register and enroll.
Thursday, August 29 First day of instruction.
Monday, September 2 No University exercises, staff holiday: Labor Day.
Thursday, September 12 All work for spring term undergraduate incompletes due
to instructors.
Friday, September 13 Last opportunity to enroll in courses for all students.
Thursday, September 19 Grades replacing spring undergraduate incompletes due in the University Registrar's Office.
Monday, September 23 No University exercises: Yom Kippur.
Friday, September 27 Last day for undergraduates to elect a pass/fail option for the current term and to convert to graded basis for the preceding term.
Friday, October 11 Brandeis Monday - Monday class schedule in effect.
Monday, October 14 Staff holiday, classes in session: Columbus Day.
Friday, October 18 Undergraduate midterm grades due in the University Registrar's Office.
Friday, October 25 Last day for undergraduates to drop a course.
Monday, November 11 No University exercises: Veterans Day.
Tuesday-Friday,
November 12-22
Undergraduate preliminary enrollment period for spring term 1997.
Thursday, November 21 Brandeis Monday - Monday class schedule in effect.
Thursday-Friday, November 28-29 No University exercises, staff holidays: Thanksgiving.
Monday, December 2 Last day for February graduate degree candidates to submit penultimate copies of dissertations to program chairs and to file Application for Degree in the Office of the University Registrar. Last day for February Heller School degree candidates to submit penultimate copies of dissertations and Application for Degree at the Heller School Registrar.
Tuesday, December 3 Last day for all Graduate Arts and Sciences, Graduate International Economics and Finance, and Heller School students to drop a course.
Friday, December 6 Last day of instruction.
Monday, December 9 Study day.
Tuesday-Tuesday,
December 10-17
Final examination period.
Friday, December 27 Fall term grades due in the University Registrar's 10:00a.m. Office. Grades replacing Graduate Arts and Sciences, Graduate International Economics and Finance, and Heller School incompletes from spring term 1996 due. Final day for faculty certification that February master's candidates have completed degree requirements, including language(s) and theses, and that Ph.D. candidates have defende dissertations.
Monday, January 6 Final day for February graduate doctoral candidates to deposit dissertations at the Graduate School Office. Final day for February Heller School doctoral candidates to deposit dissertations at the Heller School Registrar.


*Note: Make-up examinations for spring term 1996 will be held September 5,9,10, 1996.
_
___________________________________________________________
Policy of Brandeis University Pertaining to Religious Observance
____________________________________________________________
In constructing the academic calendar, religious holy days will not be the sole factor in determining days on which classes will be held or suspended. It isthe policy of the University, however, that students be encouraged to observe
their appropriate religious holy days; that instructors strive to facilitat this by allowing absence from classes for such purposes and by trying to insure that no examinations, written reports, oral reports, or other mandatory class
assignments are scheduled for or due on such holy days; and that instructors provide ample opportunities for such students to make up work missed on such occasions without penalty.





ACADEMIC CALENDAR FOR SPRING TERM 1997*


Sunday, January 19 New undergraduate students arrive. Residence halls open.
Monday, January 20 No University exercises, staff holiday: Martin Luther King Day.
Thursday-Monday,Jan 16-Feb 3 Students register and enroll
Tuesday, January 21 First day of instruction.
Monday, February 3 Last opportunity to enroll in courses. All work for fall term incompletes due to instructors.
Monday, February 10 Grades replacing fall undergraduate incompletes due in the University Registrar's Office.
Friday, February 14 Last day for undergraduates to elect a pass/fail grading option for the current term and to convert to graded basis for the preceding term.
Monday, February 17 Staff holiday, classes in session: Presidents' Day.
Friday, February 28 Last day for May Ph.D. degree candidates in Arts and Sciences to submit penultimate copies of dissertations to program chairs and to file Application for Degree in the Office of the University Registrar. Last day for May Heller School degree candidates to submit penultimate copies of dissertations and Application for Degree to the Heller School Registrar.
Monday-Friday,
March 3-7
No University exercises: midterm recess.
Friday, March 14 Undergraduate midterm grades due in the University Registrar's Office.
Friday, March 21 Last day for undergraduates to drop a course.
Monday, March 24 Final day for master's candidates to complete foreign language requirement(s) for May degree.
Friday, March 28 No University exercises: Good Friday.
Tuesday-Friday,
April 8-18 term 1997
Undergraduate preliminary enrollment period for fall
Monday, April 14 Last day for graduating seniors to convert current pass/fail enrollments to graded basis. Final day for faculty certifications that May Ph.D. candidates have defended dissertations.
Monday, April 21 Staff holiday, classes in session: Patriots' Day.
Tuesday-Tuesday,
April 22-29
No University exercises: Passover and spring recess.
Thursday, May 1 Last day for all Graduate Arts and Sciences, Graduate International Economics and Finance, and Heller School students to drop a course.
Wednesday, May 7 Last day of instruction. Brandeis Friday - Friday class schedule in effect.
Thursday-Thursday,
May 8-15
Final examination period.
Monday, May 12 Senior grades for all courses without final exams due in the University Registrar's Office by 10:00 a.m. Senior grades for all courses with final exams due by 10:00 a.m. on the third day
after the examination, and in no case later than Monday, May 19 at 10:00 a.m. Final day for May graduate doctoral degree candidates to deposit dissertations at the Graduate School
Office. Final day for faculty certification that master's candidates' theses have been accepted. Grades replacing Heller School incompletes due. Final day for May Heller School doctoral degree candidates to deposit dissertations at the Heller School Registrar.
Friday, May 16 Grades for all graduate degree candidates due in the University Registrar's Office. 10:00 a.m.
Thursday, May 22 Department degree meetings at 9:30 a.m.
Friday, May 23 Faculty meeting at 9:30 a.m.
Sunday, May 25 Commencement.
Monday, May 26 Staff holiday: Memorial Day
 Tuesday, May 27 10:00 a.m. All other spring term grades due in the University Registrar's Office. Graduate
incompletes from fall term 1996 due.

*Note: Make-up examinations for fall term 1996 will be held January 29, 30, and February 3, 1997.
_____________________________________________________________
Policy of Brandeis University Pertaining to Religious Observance
___________________________________________________________________
In constructing the academic calendar, religious holy days will not be the sole factor in determining days on which classes will be held or suspended. It is the policy of the University, however, that students be encouraged to observe their appropriate religious holy days; that instructors strive to facilitate this by allowing absence from classes for such purposes and by trying to insure that no examinations, written reports, oral reports, or other mandatory class assignments are scheduled for or due on such holy days; and that instructors provide ample opportunities for such students to make up work missed on such occasions without penalty.

Brandeis University Registrar's Home Page