ACADEMIC CALENDAR 1998-99


  Academic Calendar - Fall 1998

  Academic Calendar - Spring 1999        - Note the degree voting date change





ACADEMIC CALENDAR FOR FALL TERM 1998*

 Sunday, August 30 New undergraduate students arrive.
 Tuesday, September 1 Residence halls open for returning students.
 Friday-Friday, Aug. 28 - Sept. 18 Students register and enroll.
 Thursday, September 3 First day of instruction. 100% of semester tuition refund for approved leaves.
 Monday, September 7 Labor Day. No University exercises, staff holiday:
 Friday, September 11 75% of semester tuition refund for approved leaves.
 Thursday, September 17 All work for spring term undergraduate incompletes due to instructors.
 Friday, September 18 Last opportunity to enroll in courses for all students.
 Monday - Tuesday September 21 - 22 No University exercises: Rosh Hashanah.
 Thursday, September 24 Brandeis Monday Monday class schedule in effect. Grades replacing spring undergraduate incompletes due in the University Registrar's Office.
 Wednesday, September 30 No University exercises: Yom Kippur.
 Friday, October 2 Brandeis Monday Monday class schedule in effect. Last day for undergraduates to elect a pass/fail option for the current term and to convert to graded basis for the preceding term.
 Friday, October 2

50% of semester tuition refund for approved leaves.

No tuition refund after this day for any leaves.

 Monday, October 5 No University exercises. Sukkot.
 Monday, October 12 No University exercises, staff holiday: Shimini Atzeret/Columbus Day.
 Friday, October 23 Undergraduate midterm grades due in the University Registrar's Office.
 Monday - Wednesday Oct. 26 - Nov. 4 Undergraduate preliminary enrollment period for spring term 1999. 
 Friday, November 6 Last day for undergraduates to drop a course.
 Thursday-Friday, November 26-27 No University exercises, staff holidays: Thanksgiving.
 Monday, December 7 Last day for February graduate degree candidates to submit penultimate copies of dissertations to program chairs and to file Application for Degree in the Office of the University Registrar. Last day for February Heller School degree candidates to submit penultimate copies of dissertations and Application for Degree at the Heller School Registrar.
 Wednesday, December 9 Last day for all Graduate Arts and Sciences, Graduate International Economics and Finance, and Heller School students to drop a course.
 Monday, December 14 Last day of instruction.
 Tuesday, December 15 Study day.
 Wednesday - Wednesday, December 16 - 23 Final examination period.
 Wednesday, December 30 10:00 a.m. Fall term grades due in the University Registrarís Office. Grades replacing Graduate Arts and Sciences, Graduate International Economics and Finance, and Heller School incompletes from spring term 1998 due. Final day for faculty certification that February master's candidates have completed degree requirements, including language(s) and theses, and that Ph.D. candidates have defended dissertations.
 Monday, January 4 Final day for February graduate doctoral candidates to deposit dissertations at the Graduate School Office. Final day for February Heller School doctoral candidates to deposit dissertations at the Heller School Registrar.

*Make-up examinations for spring term 1998 will be held September 10, 14, and 15, 1998.

 





ACADEMIC CALENDAR FOR SPRING TERM 1999*
 Sunday, January 17 New undergraduate students arrive. Residence halls open.
 Monday, January 18 No University exercises, staff holiday: Martin Luther King Day.
 Friday - Tuesday, Jan. 15 - Feb. 2 Students register and enroll.
 Tuesday, January 19 First day of instruction.
 Tuesday, February 2 Last opportunity to enroll in courses. All work for fall term incompletes due to instructors.
 Tuesday, February 9 Grades replacing fall undergraduate incompletes due in the University Registrar's Office.
 Friday, February 12 Last day for undergraduates to elect a pass/fail grading option for the current term and to convert to graded basis for the preceding term.
 Monday, February 15 Staff holiday, classes in session: Presidents' Day.
 Friday, February 26 Last day for May Ph.D. degree candidates in Arts and Sciences to submit penultimate copies of dissertations to program chairs and to file Application for Degree in the Office of the University Registrar. Last day for May Heller School degree candidates to submit penultimate copies of dissertations and Application for Degree to the Heller School Registrar.
 Monday-Friday, February 22 - 26 No University exercises: midterm recess.
 Tuesday, March 2  Brandeis Thursday - Thursday class schedule in effect.
 Friday, March 12 Undergraduate midterm grades due in the University Registrar's Office.
 Friday, March 19 Last day for undergraduates to drop a course.
 Monday, March 22 Final day for master's candidates to complete foreign language requirement(s) for May degree.
 Monday-Wednesday,March 22- 31 Undergraduate preliminary enrollment period for fall term 1999.
 Thursday - Thursday, April 1 - 8 No University exercises: Passover and spring recess.
 Monday, April 19 Staff holiday, classes in session: Patriotís Day. 
 Tuesday, April 20 Last day for graduating seniors to convert current pass/fail enrollments to graded basis. Final day for faculty certifications that May Ph.D. candidates have defended dissertations.
 Thursday, April 29 Last day for all Graduate Arts and Sciences, Graduate International Economics and Finance, and Heller School students to drop a course.
 Tuesday, May 4 Last day of instruction.
 Wednesday, May 5 Study day.
 Thursday-Thursday, May 6-13 Final examination period.
 Monday, May 10 Senior grades for all courses without final exams due in the University Registrar's Office by 10:00 a.m. Senior grades for all courses with final exams due by 10:00 a.m. on the third day after the examination, and in no case later than Monday, May 17 at 10:00 a.m. Final day for May graduate doctoral degree candidates to deposit dissertations at the Graduate School Office. Final day for faculty certification that master's candidates' theses have been accepted. Grades replacing Heller School incompletes due. Final day for May Heller School doctoral degree candidates to deposit dissertations at the Heller School Registrar.
 Friday, May 14 10:00 a.m. Grades for all graduate degree candidates due in the University Registrar's Office.
 Wednesday, May 19 Department degree meetings at 9:30 a.m.
 Thursday, May 20 Faculty meeting at 3:00p.m.
 Sunday, May 23 Commencement.
 Tuesday, May 25 10:00 a.m. All other spring term grades due in the University Registrar's Office. Graduate incompletes from fall term 1998 due.
 Monday, May 31  Staff holiday: Memorial Day.

*Make-up examinations for fall term 1998 will be held January 27, 28, and February 1, 1999.

 

 Policy of Brandeis University Pertaining to Religious Observance
In constructing the academic calendar, religious holy days will not be the sole factor in determining days on which classes will be held or suspended. It is the policy of the University, however, that students be encouraged to observe their appropriate religious holy days; that instructors strive to facilitate this by allowing absence from classes for such purposes and by trying to insure that no examinations, written reports, oral reports, or other mandatory class assignments are scheduled for or due on such holy days; and that instructors provide ample opportunities for such students to make up work missed on such occasions without penalty.

  Back To Calendar Page