ACADEMIC CALENDAR 2000-2001




Academic Calendar - Fall 2000

Academic Calendar - Spring 2001


ACADEMIC CALENDAR FOR FALL TERM 2000*


 Sunday, August 27 New undergraduate students arrive.
Tuesday, August 29 Residence halls open for returning students.
 Friday-Friday, 

Aug. 25 - Sept. 15

Students register and enroll.
 Wednesday, August 30 Last day of receiving 100% semester tuition refund.
 Thursday, August 31 First day of instruction. 
First day of receiving 75% semester tuition refund for approved leaves.
 Monday, September 4 Labor Day. No University exercises, staff holiday:
 Friday, September 8 Last day of receiving 75% semester tuition refund for approved leaves.
Saturday, September 9 First day of receiving 50% semester tuition refund for approved leaves.
 Thursday, September 14 All work for spring term undergraduate incompletes due to instructors.
 Friday, September 15 Last opportunity to enroll in courses for all students. Last day to drop courses without instructor's permission.
 Tuesday, September 19 Grades replacing spring undergraduate incompletes due in the University Registrar's Office.
 Friday, September 29 Last day for undergraduates to elect a pass/fail option for the current term and to convert to graded basis for the preceding term.
 Friday, September 29 Last day of receiving 50% semester tuition refund for approved leaves.
Saturday, September 30 No tuition refund starting this day.
Friday, October 6 Last day for  undergraduates to drop courses without transcript notation. 
Friday, October 6 Last day to drop Module I GSIEF courses.
 Monday, October 9 No University exercises, staff holiday: Columbus Day.

Yom Kippur.

 Tuesday, October 10 Brandeis Monday - Monday class schedule in effect.
 Friday, October 13 Undergraduate midterm grades due in the University Registrar's Office.
 Monday - Wednesday

 October 30 - November 8

Undergraduate preliminary enrollment period for spring term 2001. 
 Friday, November 10 Last day to drop courses with a "W" transcript notation.
 Thursday-Friday, November 23-24 No University exercises, staff holidays: Thanksgiving.
 Thursday, November 30 Last day for all Graduate Arts and Sciences, Graduate International Economics and Finance, and Heller School students to drop a course with the signatures of the instructor and chairperson.
 Monday, December 4 Last day for February graduate degree candidates to submit penultimate copies of dissertations to program chairs and to file Application for Degree in the Office of the University Registrar. Last day for February Heller School degree candidates to submit penultimate copies of dissertations and Application for Degree at the Heller School Registrar.
 Tuesday, December 5 Last day of instruction.
 Wednesday, December 6 Study day.
 Thursday - Thursday,

December 7-14

Final examination period.
Wednesday, December 27 10:00 a.m. Fall term grades due in the Office of the University Registrar. Grades replacing Graduate Arts and Sciences, Graduate International Economics and Finance, and Heller School incompletes from spring term 2000 due. Final day for faculty certification that February master's candidates have completed degree requirements, including language(s) and theses, and that Ph.D. candidates have defended dissertations.
 Monday, January 8 Final day for February graduate doctoral candidates to deposit dissertations at the Graduate School Office. Final day for February Heller School doctoral candidates to deposit dissertations at the Heller School Registrar.
*Make-up examinations for spring term 2000 will be held September 7, 11, and 12, 2000.
 


ACADEMIC CALENDAR FOR SPRING TERM 2001*

 Sunday, January 14 New undergraduate students arrive. Residence halls open.
 Monday, January 15 No University exercises, staff holiday: Martin Luther King Day.
Last day of receiving 100% semester tuition refund.
 Friday - Monday, January 12 - 29 Students register and enroll.
 Tuesday, January 16 First day of instruction. First day of receiving 75% semester tuition refund for approved leaves.
 Friday, January 26 Last day of receiving 75%  semester tuition refund for approved leaves.
 Saturday, January 27 First day of receiving 50% semester tuition refund for approved leaves.
 Monday, January 29 Last opportunity to enroll in courses for all students. All work for fall term incompletes due to instructors. Last day to drop courses from the phone system, after January 29, all drops should be processed from the University Registrar's Office at Kutz 124
 Tuesday, February 6 Grades replacing fall undergraduate incompletes due in the University Registrar's Office.
 Friday, February 9 Last day for undergraduates to elect a pass/fail grading option for the current term and to convert to graded basis for the preceding term.
 Monday, February 12 Last day for graduate students of International Economics and Finance students to drop Module I courses. 
 Friday, February 16 Last day of receiving 50% semester tuition refund for approved leaves.
 Saturday, Friday 17 No tuition refund starting this day.
 Monday - Friday, February 19 - 23 No University exercises: midterm recess.
 Monday, February 26 Last day for May Ph.D. degree candidates in Arts and Sciences to submit penultimate copies of dissertations to program chairs and to file Application for Degree in the Office of the University Registrar. Last day for May Heller School degree candidates to submit penultimate copies of dissertations and Application for Degree to the Heller School Registrar.
 Friday, March 2 Last day for undergraduates to drop courses without transcript notation.
 Friday, March 2 Last day to drop Module I GSIEF courses.
 Friday, March 9 Undergraduate midterm grades due in the University Registrar's Office.
 Monday, March 19 Final day for master's candidates to complete foreign language requirement(s) for May degree.
 Monday - Wednesday, March 19-28 Undergraduate preliminary enrollment period for fall term 2001.
 Friday, March 30 Last day for undergraduates to drop courses with a "W" transcript notation.
 Monday - Friday, April 9 -13 No University exercises: Passover and spring recess.
 Monday, April 16 Staff holiday, classes in session: Patriotís Day. 
 Tuesday, April 17 Final day for faculty certifications that May Ph.D. candidates have defended dissertations.
 Wednesday, April 25 Last day for all Graduate Arts and Sciences, Graduate International Economics and Finance, and Heller School students to drop a course with the signatures of the instructor and chairperson.
 Monday, April 30 Last day of instruction.
Tuesday, May 1 Study day.
Wednesday - Wednesday, May 2 - 9 Final examination period.
 Monday, May 7 Senior grades for all courses without final exams due in the University Registrar's Office by 10:00 a.m. Senior grades for all courses with final exams due by 10:00 a.m. on the third day after the examination, and in no case later than Monday, May 14 at 10:00 a.m. Final day for May graduate doctoral degree candidates to deposit dissertations at the Graduate School Office. Final day for faculty certification that master's candidates' theses have been accepted. Grades replacing Heller School incompletes due. Final day for May Heller School doctoral degree candidates to deposit dissertations at the Heller School Registrar.
Thursday, May 10 10:00 a.m. Grades for all graduate degree candidates due in the University Registrar's Office.
 Monday, May 14 Last day for graduating seniors to convert current pass/fail enrollments to graded basis.
 Wednesday, May 16 Department degree meetings at 9:30 a.m.
 Friday, May 18 Faculty meeting at 9:30 a.m.
 Sunday, May 20 Commencement.
 Tuesday, May 22 10:00 a.m. All other spring term grades due in the University Registrar's Office. Graduate incompletes from fall term 2000 due.
 Monday, May 28  Staff holiday: Memorial Day observed.
*Make-up examinations for fall term 2000 will be held January 24, 25 and 29, 2001.
 
 Policy of Brandeis University Pertaining to Religious Observance
In constructing the academic calendar, religious holy days will not be the sole factor in determining days on which classes will be held or suspended. It is the policy of the University, however, that students be encouraged to observe their appropriate religious holy days; that instructors strive to facilitate this by allowing absence from classes for such purposes and by trying to insure that no examinations, written reports, oral reports, or other mandatory class assignments are scheduled for or due on such holy days; and that instructors provide ample opportunities for such students to make up work missed on such occasions without penalty.

 


Brandeis University Registrar's Home Page