ACADEMIC CALENDAR 2001-2002

Academic Calendar - Fall 2001

Academic Calendar - Spring 2002


ACADEMIC CALENDAR FOR FALL TERM 2001*


 Sunday, August 26 New undergraduate students arrive.
 Tuesday, August 28 Residence halls open for returning students.
 Friday-Friday, 
 Aug. 24 - Sept. 14
Students register and enroll.
 Wednesday, August 29 Last day of receiving 100% semester tuition refund.
 Thursday, August 30 First day of instruction. 
First day of receiving 75% semester tuition refund for approved leaves.
 Monday, September 3 Labor Day. No University exercises, staff holiday:
 Friday, September 7 Last day of receiving 75% semester tuition refund for approved leaves.
 Saturday, September 8 First day of receiving 50% semester tuition refund for approved leaves.
 Friday, September 14 Last opportunity to enroll in courses for all students.  Last opportunity to drop courses without instructor's permission. All work for spring term undergraduate incompletes due to instructors.
 Tuesday - Wednesday
 September 18 - 19
No University exercises.   Rosh Hashanah.
 Friday, September 21 Grades replacing spring undergraduate incompletes due in the University Registrar's Office.
 Thursday, September 27 No University exercises.  Yom Kippur.
 Tuesday, October 2 No University Exercises.  Sukkot.
 Friday, September 28 Last day of receiving 50% semester tuition refund for approved leaves.
 Friday, October 5 Last day for undergraduates to elect a pass/fail option for the current term and to convert to graded basis for the preceding term.
 Monday, October 8 Staff holiday, classes in session:  Columbus Day.  Brandeis Tuesday - Tuesday class schedule in effect.
 Tuesday, October 9 No University exercises.  Shmini Atzeret.
 Friday, October 12 Last day for  undergraduates to drop courses without transcript notation (instructor permission required). 
 Friday, October 12 Undergraduate midterm grades due in the University Registrar's Office
 Friday, October 12 Last day to drop Module I GSIEF courses.
 Monday - Wednesday
 October 29 - November 7
Undergraduate preliminary enrollment period for spring term 2002. 
Friday, November 2 Brandeis Tuesday - Tuesday class schedule in effect.
 Friday, November 16 Last day to drop courses with a "W" transcript notation.
 Thursday-Friday, November 22-23 No University exercises, staff holidays: Thanksgiving.
 Friday, November 30 Last day for all Graduate Arts and Sciences, Graduate International Economics and Finance, and Heller School students to drop a course with the signatures of the instructor and chairperson.
 Monday, December 3 Last day for February graduate degree candidates to submit penultimate copies of dissertations to program chairs and to file Application for Degree in the Office of the University Registrar. Last day for February Heller School degree candidates to submit penultimate copies of dissertations and Application for Degree at the Heller School Registrar.
 Monday, December 10 Last day of instruction.
 Tuesday, December 11 Study day.
Wednesday - Wednesday,
December 12-19
Final examination period.
Friday, December 28 10:00 a.m. Fall term grades due in the Office of the University Registrar. Grades replacing Graduate Arts and Sciences, Graduate International Economics and Finance, and Heller School incompletes from spring term 2001 due. Final day for faculty certification that February master's candidates have completed degree requirements, including language(s) and theses, and that Ph.D. candidates have defended dissertations.
 Monday, January 7 Final day for February graduate doctoral candidates to deposit dissertations at the Graduate School Office. Final day for February Heller School doctoral candidates to deposit dissertations at the Heller School Registrar.
*Make-up examinations for spring term 2001 will be held September 6, 10, and 11, 2001.
 



ACADEMIC CALENDAR FOR SPRING TERM 2002*
 Sunday, January 20 New undergraduate students arrive. Residence halls open.
 Monday, January 21 No University exercises, staff holiday: Martin Luther King Day.
Last day of receiving 100% semester tuition refund.
 Friday - Monday, January 18-February 4 Students register and enroll.
 Tuesday, January 22 First day of instruction. First day of receiving 75% semester tuition refund for approved leaves.
 Friday, January 25 Last day of receiving 75%  semester tuition refund for approved leaves.
 Saturday, January 26 First day of receiving 50% semester tuition refund for approved leaves.
 Monday, February 4 Last opportunity to enroll in courses for all students. All work for fall term incompletes due to instructors. Last day to drop courses from the phone system, after February 4, all drops should be processed from the University Registrar's Office at Kutz 124
 Tuesday, February 5 Grades replacing fall undergraduate incompletes due in the University Registrar's Office.
 Friday, February 15 Last day for undergraduates to elect a pass/fail grading option for the current term and to convert to graded basis for the preceding term.
 Friday, February 15 Last day of receiving 50% semester tuition refund for approved leaves.
 Saturday, Friday 16 No tuition refund starting this day.
 Monday - Friday, February 18-22 No University exercises: midterm recess.
 Monday, February 25 Last day for May Ph.D. degree candidates in Arts and Sciences to submit penultimate copies of dissertations to program chairs and to file Application for Degree in the Office of the University Registrar. Last day for May Heller School degree candidates to submit penultimate copies of dissertations and Application for Degree to the Heller School Registrar.
 Friday, March 1 Last day for undergraduates to drop courses without transcript notation (instructor's permission required). 
 Friday, March 1 Last day to drop Module I GSIEF courses.
 Friday, March 15 Undergraduate midterm grades due in the University Registrar's Office.
 Monday, March 18 Final day for master's candidates to complete foreign language requirement(s) for May degree.
 Tuesday, March 26 Brandeis Thursday - thursday class schedule in effect.
 Wednesday, March 27 Brandeis Friday - Friday class schedule in effect.
 Thursday-Friday, March 28-April 5 No University exercises; Passover and spring recess.
 Monday, April 15 Staff holiday, classes in session: Patriot's Day.
 Tuesday-Friday, April 16 - 26 Undergraduate preliminary enrollment period for fall term 2002.
 Wednesday, April 17 Final day for faculty certifications that May Ph.D. candidates have defended dissertations.
 Friday, April 19 Last day for undergraduates to drop courses with a "W" transcript notation (instructor's permission required).
 Wednesday, May 1 Last day for all Graduate Arts and Sciences, Graduate International Economics and Finance, and Heller School students to drop a course with the signatures of the instructor and chairperson.
 Wednesday, May 8 Last day of instruction.
 Thursday - Thursday, May 9 - 16 Final examination period.
 Monday, May 13 Senior grades for all courses without final exams due in the University Registrar's Office by 10:00 a.m. Senior grades for all courses with final exams due by 10:00 a.m. on the third day after the examination, and in no case later than Monday, May 20 at 10:00 a.m. Final day for May graduate doctoral degree candidates to deposit dissertations at the Graduate School Office. Final day for faculty certification that master's candidates' theses have been accepted. Grades replacing Heller School incompletes due. Final day for May Heller School doctoral degree candidates to deposit dissertations at the Heller School Registrar.
Thursday, May 16 10:00 a.m. Grades for all graduate degree candidates due in the University Registrar's Office.
 Monday, May 20 Last day for graduating seniors to convert current pass/fail enrollments to graded basis.
 Wednesday, May 22 Department degree meetings at 9:30 a.m.
 Friday, May 24 Faculty meeting at 9:30 a.m.
 Sunday, May 26 Commencement.
 Tuesday, May 28 10:00 a.m. All other spring term grades due in the University Registrar's Office. Graduate incompletes from fall term 2001 due.
 Monday, May 27  Staff holiday: Memorial Day observed.
*Make-up examinations for fall term 2001 will be held January 23, 24 and 28, 2002.
 
 Policy of Brandeis University Pertaining to Religious Observance
In constructing the academic calendar, religious holy days will not be the sole factor in determining days on which classes will be held or suspended. It is the policy of the University, however, that students be encouraged to observe their appropriate religious holy days; that instructors strive to facilitate this by allowing absence from classes for such purposes and by trying to insure that no examinations, written reports, oral reports, or other mandatory class assignments are scheduled for or due on such holy days; and that instructors provide ample opportunities for such students to make up work missed on such occasions without penalty.