ACADEMIC CALENDAR 2002-2003

Academic Calendar - Fall 2002

Academic Calendar - Spring 2003



 
 

ACADEMIC CALENDAR FOR FALL TERM 2002*


Sunday, August 25 New undergraduate students arrive.
Tuesday, August 27 Residence halls open for returning students.
Monday, August 5- Friday, September 13 Graduate students register and enroll.
Monday, August 26 - Friday, September 13 Undergraduate students register and enroll. New students start Monday, August 26; returning students start August 27.
Friday - Friday, August 23 - September 13 Students register and enroll.
Thursday, August 29 First day of instruction, including Physical Education classes.
August 27-August 28 Physical fitness testing for Freshmen and First year transfer students only on a drop-in basis at Gosman Sports Center. Hours: Tuesday-Wednesday, August 27-28, anytime between 2 pm - 5 pm. Sneakers and comfortable dress are mandatory. Approximate time is 30 minutes. A score of 70-79 exempts you from one Physical Education class or 1/2 your requirement. A score of 80% or better will exempt you from two classes or your total requirement.
Monday, September 2 No University exercises, staff holiday:  Labor Day.
Friday, September 13 Last opportunity to enroll in courses for all students.  Last opportunity to drop courses without instructor's permission. All work for spring term undergraduate incompletes due to instructors.
Monday, September 16 No University exercises, staff holiday; Yom Kippur.
Tuesday, September 17 Brandeis Monday - Monday class schedule in effect.
Friday, September 20 Grades replacing spring undergraduate incompletes due in the University Registrar's Office.
Friday, September 27 Last day for undergraduates to elect a pass/fail option for the current term and to convert to graded basis for the preceding term.
Friday, October 4 Last day for undergraduates to drop courses without transcript notation (instructor's permission required).  Last day to drop Module I GSIEF and Heller courses.
Friday, October 11 Undergraduate midterm grades due in the University Registrar's Office. 
Monday, October 14 Staff holiday, classes in session:  Columbus Day
Monday - Wednesday Oct. 28 - Nov. 6 Undergraduate registration period for spring term 2003.
Friday, November 8 Last day for undergraduates to drop courses with a "W" transcript notation (instructor's permission required).
Monday, November 25 Last day for all Graduate Arts and Sciences, Graduate International Economics and Finance, and Heller School students to drop a course with the signatures of the instructor and chairperson.
Thursday - Friday, November 28 - 29  No University exercises, staff holidays:  Thanksgiving.
Monday, December 2 Last day for February graduate degree candidates to submit penultimate copies of dissertations    to program chairs and to file Application for Degree in the Office of the University Registrar.     Last day for February Heller School degree candidates to submit penultimate copies of     dissertations and Application for Degree at the Heller  School Registrar.
Tuesday, December 3 Last day of instruction. Last day to voluntarily withdraw from the semester (written notification required).
Wednesday, December 4 Study day.
Thursday - Thursday, December 5 - 12 Final examination period.
Friday, December 27 10:00 a.m. Fall term grades due in the University Registrar�s Office.  Grades replacing Graduate Arts and Sciences, Graduate International Economics and Finance, and Heller School incompletes    from spring term 2002 due.  Final day for faculty certification that February master's     candidates have completed degree requirements, including language(s) and theses, and     that Ph.D. candidates have defended dissertations.
Monday, January 6 Final day for February graduate doctoral candidates to deposit dissertations at the Graduate     School Office.  Final day for February Heller School doctoral candidates to deposit     dissertations at the Heller School Registrar.
*Note:  Make-up examinations for spring term 2002 will be held September 5, 9, and 10, 2002.


ACADEMIC CALENDAR FOR SPRING TERM 2003*
 
Sunday, January 12 New undergraduate students arrive.  Residence halls open.
Friday - Friday, Jan. 10 - Jan. 24 Students register and enroll.
Monday, January 13 First day of instruction.
Monday, January 20 No University exercises, staff holiday: Martin Luther King Day.
Friday, January 24 Last opportunity to enroll in courses for all students.  Last opportunity to drop courses without instructor's permission.  All work for fall term incompletes due to instructors.
Friday, January 31 Grades replacing fall undergraduate incompletes due in the University Registrar's Office.
Friday, February 7 Last day for undergraduates to elect a pass/fail grading option for the current term and to convert to graded basis for the preceding term.
Friday, February 14 Last day for undergraduates to drop courses without transcript notation (instructor's permission required).  Last day to drop Module I GSIEF and Heller courses.
Monday, February 17 Staff holiday, classes in session: President's day.
Monday, February 24 Last day for May Ph.D. degree candidates in Arts and Sciences to submit penultimate copies   of dissertations to program chairs and to file Application for Degree in the Office of the    University  Registrar.  Last day for May Heller School degree candidates to submit    penultimate copies of dissertations and Application for Degree to the Heller School Registrar.
Monday - Friday,  March 3 - 7 No University exercises:  midterm recess.
 
Friday, March 14 Undergraduate midterm grades due in the University Registrar's Office.
Monday, March 17 Final day for master's candidates to complete foreign language requirement(s) for May degree.
Friday, March 28 Last day for undergraduates to drop courses with a "W" transcript notation (instructor's permission required).
Monday - Thursday, April 7 - 17 Undergraduate registration period for fall term 2003.
Friday, April 11 Last day for all Graduate Arts and Sciences, Graduate International Economics and Finance, and Heller School students to drop a course with the signatures of the instructor and chairperson.
Tuesday, April 15 Brandeis Thursday -  Thursday class schedule in effect.
Wednesday, April 16 Brandeis Friday - Friday class schedule in effect.  Final day for faculty certifications that May Ph.D. candidates have defended dissertations.
Thursday - Thursday April 17 - April 24 No University exercises:  Passover and spring recess.
Monday, April 21  Staff holiday:  Patriot�s Day.
Friday, April 25  Study day.
Wednesday, April 30 Last day of instruction. Last day to voluntarily withdraw from the semester (written notification required).
Thursday - Thursday, May 1 - 8 Final examination period.
Monday, May 5 Senior grades for all courses without final exams due in the University Registrar's Office by 10:00 a.m. Senior grades for all courses with final exams due by 10:00 a.m. on the third day after the examination, and in no case later than Monday, May 12, at 10:00 a.m.  Final day for May graduate doctoral degree candidates to deposit dissertations at the Graduate School Office.  Final day for faculty certification that master's candidates' theses have been accepted.  Grades replacing Heller School incompletes due.  Final day for May Heller School doctoral degree candidates to deposit dissertations at the Heller School Registrar.
Thursday, May 8 10:00 a.m. Grades for all graduate degree candidates due in the University Registrar's Office.
Monday, May 12 Last day for graduating seniors to convert current pass/fail enrollments to graded basis.
Wednesday, May 14 Department degree meetings at 9:30 a.m.
Friday, May 16  Faculty meeting at 9:30 a.m.
Sunday, May 18 Commencement.
Tuesday, May 20 10:00 a.m. All other spring term grades due in the University Registrar's Office.  Graduate 
  incompletes from fall term 2002 due.
Monday, May 26  Staff holiday:  Memorial Day observed.
*Note:  Make-up examinations for fall term 2002 will be held January 15, 16, and 21, 2003.
 Policy of Brandeis University Pertaining to Religious Observance
In constructing the academic calendar, religious holy days will not be the sole factor in determining days on which classes will be held or suspended. It is the policy of the University, however, that students be encouraged to observe their appropriate religious holy days; that instructors strive to facilitate this by allowing absence from classes for such purposes and by trying to insure that no examinations, written reports, oral reports, or other mandatory class assignments are scheduled for or due on such holy days; and that instructors provide ample opportunities for such students to make up work missed on such occasions without penalty.

Jewish holidays begin at sundown of the previous evening and end at nightfall of the day listed.