Make-up examinations

Spring term 2014
September 8, 10, and 11, 2014.

Religious Observance Policy

In constructing the academic calendar, religious holy days will not be the sole factor in determining days on which classes will be held or suspended.

It is the policy of the University, however, that students be encouraged to observe their appropriate religious holy days; that instructors strive to facilitate this by allowing absence from classes for such purposes and by trying to insure that no examinations, written reports, oral reports or other mandatory class assignments are scheduled for or due on such holy days; and that instructors provide ample opportunities for such students to make up work missed on such occasions without penalty. Jewish holidays begin at sundown of the previous evening and end at nightfall of the day listed.

Fall Term 2014


Tuesday, Aug. 19 — Thursday, Sept. 11 Registration period for graduate and undergraduate students.
Sunday Aug. 24 Residence halls open for new undergraduate students.
Tuesday, Aug. 26 Residence halls open for returning students.
Thursday, Aug. 28 First day of instruction.
Monday, Sept. 1 Labor Day: No university exercises, staff holiday.
Thursday, Sept. 11 Last day to add classes. All work for spring and summer term 2014 undergraduate incompletes due to instructors. Last day for seniors graduating in Dec. to declare or drop a major or minor.
Thursday, Sept. 18 Grades replacing spring and summer 2014 undergraduate incompletes due in the University Registrar's Office.
Monday, Sept. 22 Last day for undergraduates to elect a pass/fail option for the current term and to request a P grade for the preceding term (at 5 p.m.)
Tuesday, Sept. 23 Brandeis Thursday:  Thursday class schedule in effect.
Thursday, Sept. 25 — Friday, Sept. 26 Rosh Hashanah: No university exercises. Staff holiday Thursday.
Wednesday, Oct. 1 Last day to drop or change grading option of Module I courses to audit (instructor’s and chair’s permission required).
Thursday, Oct. 9 Sukkot: No university exercises
Friday, Oct. 10 Last day for undergraduates to apply for midyear graduation. Last day for undergraduates to submit a Reduced Rate Senior application.
Monday, Oct. 13 Columbus Day: Classes in session, staff holiday. Brandeis Thursday: Thursday class schedule in effect.
Tuesday, Oct. 14 Last day for undergraduates to drop courses without a "W" transcript notation (instructor's permission required).
Thursday, Oct. 16 Shmini Atzeret:  No university exercises.
Friday, Oct. 24 Undergraduate midterm grades due.
Wednesday, Oct. 29 — Thursday, Oct. 30 Early registration for spring term 2015 business courses for undergraduate business majors and minors only.
Friday, Oct. 31 Fall Module I grades due.
Tuesday, Nov. 4 – Monday, Nov. 10 Registration period for spring term 2015.
Monday, Nov. 10 Last day to add Module II classes.
Tuesday, Nov. 11 Veteran's Day:  Classes in session.
Wednesday, Nov. 12 Last day for undergraduates to drop courses with a "W" transcript notation (instructor's permission required).
Wednesday, Nov. 12 Last day for graduate students to drop semester courses or change grading option of semester classes to audit (instructor's and chair's permission required).
Monday, Nov. 24 Last day to drop or change grading option of Module II courses to audit (instructor's and chair's permission required).
Wednesday, Nov. 26 – Friday, Nov. 28 Thanksgiving holiday: No university exercises, staff holiday Thursday and Friday.
Monday, Dec. 8 Last day of instruction. Last day to voluntarily withdraw from the term (written notification required).
Tuesday, Dec. 9 - Wednesday, Dec. 10 Study days.
Thursday, Dec. 11 – Thursday, Dec. 18 Final examination period.
Friday, Dec. 19 at 12 noon Residence halls close.
Tuesday, Dec. 23 Fall term grades due.
Friday, Dec. 26 Last day for graduating seniors to convert current term pass/fail enrollments to a "P."