Make-up examinations

Fall term 2014
January 14, 15, and 20, 2015.

Religious Observance Policy

In constructing the academic calendar, religious holy days will not be the sole factor in determining days on which classes will be held or suspended.

It is the policy of the University, however, that students be encouraged to observe their appropriate religious holy days; that instructors strive to facilitate this by allowing absence from classes for such purposes and by trying to insure that no examinations, written reports, oral reports or other mandatory class assignments are scheduled for or due on such holy days; and that instructors provide ample opportunities for such students to make up work missed on such occasions without penalty. Jewish holidays begin at sundown of the previous evening and end at nightfall of the day listed.

Spring Term 2015


Thursday, Jan. 8 – Monday, Jan. 26 Registration period for graduate and undergraduate students.
Thursday, Jan. 8 New students arrive on campus; residence halls open for new students only.
Sunday, Jan. 11 Residence halls open for returning students.
Monday, Jan. 12 First day of instruction.
Monday, Jan. 19 Martin Luther King Day: No university exercises, staff holiday.
Monday, Jan. 26 Last day to add semester and module 1 classes. All work for fall term 2014 undergraduate incompletes due to instructors. Last day for seniors graduating in May to declare or drop a major or minor.
Monday, Feb. 2 Last day for undergraduates to elect a pass/fail option for the current term and to request a P grade for the preceding term. Grades replacing fall 2014 undergraduate incompletes due.
Friday, Feb. 13 Last day to drop or change grading option of Module I courses to audit (instructor’s and chair’s permission required).
Monday, Feb. 16 President's Day:  Staff holiday.
Monday, Feb. 16 – Friday, Feb. 20 Midterm Recess: No university exercises.
Monday, Mar. 2 Last day for undergraduates to drop courses without a "W" transcript notation (instructor's permission required).
Friday, Mar. 13 Undergraduate midterm grades due.
Monday, Mar. 16 Spring Module I grades due.
Tuesday, Mar. 24 Last day to add Module II courses.
Monday, Mar. 30 Last day for undergraduates to drop courses with a "W" transcript notation (instructor's permission required).
Monday, Mar. 30 Last day for graduate students to drop semester courses or change grading basis to audit (instructor's and chair's permission required).
Friday, Apr. 3 Grades replacing graduate incompletes from fall term 2014 due.
Friday, April 3 – Friday, Apr. 10 Passover and spring recess: No university exercises.
Tuesday, Apr. 14 Last day to drop or change grading option of Module II courses to audit (instructor's and chair's permission required).
Monday, Apr. 13 — Tuesday, Apr. 14 Early registration for fall term 2015 business courses for undergraduate business majors and minors only.
Wednesday, Apr. 15 — Monday, Apr. 20 Registration period for fall term 2015.
Monday, Apr. 20 Patriots Day: classes in session, staff holiday
Tuesday, Apr. 28

Brandeis Friday - Friday class schedule in effect. Last day of instruction. Last day to voluntarily withdraw from the term (written notification required).

Wednesday, April 29 Study day.
Thursday, April 30 – Thursday, May 7 Final examination period.
Monday, May 4 Grades for May degree recipients for all courses without final exams due by 10:00 a.m. For all courses with final exams, such grades are due by 10:00 a.m. on the third day after the examination, and in no case later than Sunday, May 10, at 3:00 p.m.
Friday, May 8 at 12 noon Residence halls close for undergraduates.
Monday, May 11 Last day for graduating seniors to convert current term pass/fail enrollments to a "P."
Tuesday, May 12 Department degree meetings.
Thursday, May 14 Faculty meeting.
Sunday, May 17 Commencement.
Monday, May 18 at 12 noon Residence halls close for all students.
Tuesday, May 19 All other spring term grades due.
Monday, May 25 Memorial Day: staff holiday.