Award-Winning Brandeis Writers

library stacks

Mary Campbell,  "Wonder and Science: Imagining Worlds in Early Modern Europe" (1999) awarded the James Russell Lowell Prize by the Modern Languages Association for an Outstanding Book of Literary Criticism

Brian Donahue, "The Great Meadow" (2004) awarded George Perkins March Prize for Best Book in Environmental History and the New England Historical Association Book Award

David Engerman, "Modernization from the Other Shore: American Intellectuals and the Romance of Russian Development" (2003) awarded the Stuart L. Bernath Book Prize from the Society for Historians of American Foreign Relations and the Akira Iriye International History Book Award

David Hackett Fischer, awarded the 2015 Pritzker Military Museum & Library Literature Award for Lifetime Achievement in Military Writing.  "Washington's Crossing" (2004) awarded the Pulitzer Prize for History

Paul Jankowski, “Verdun: The Longest Battle of the Great War” (2014) awarded the Tomlinson Prize of the World War I History Association for Best Book on WWI History

Charles McClendon, "The Origins of Medieval Architecture: Building in Europe 600-900 A.D." (2005) awarded the Otto Gruendler Book Prize from the International Congress on Medieval Studies

Eileen McNamara, awarded the 1997 Pulitzer Prize for Commentary and 2007 The Yankee Quill Award from The Academy of New England Journalists

Jonathan Sarna, "American Judaism" (2005) awarded the Weinberg Judaic Studies Institute Prize for the Best Book in American Jewish Studies

Michael Willrich,  "Pox: An American History (2011) awarded the OAH Lawrence W. Levine Prize Award and the American Association for the History of Medicine's William H. Welch Medal. "City of Courts: Socializing Justice in Progressive Era Chicago" (2003) awarded the American Historical Association's John H. Dunning Prize and the American Society for Legal History's Cromwell Book Prize.