Commencement 2023

Undergraduate Order of Ceremonies

Undergraduate ceremony begins at 9 a.m.


Grand Marshals

  • Ann Olga Koloski-Ostrow, P’07, P’10
  • Nancy Scott

Marshal of the President’s Councilors and Fellows of the University

  • Patsy Fisher

Marshals of the Faculty

  • Carol Fierke, GSAS PhD’84
  • Jody Hoffer Gittell

Marshals of the Class of 2023

  • Dorothy Hodgson
  • LeManuel Lee Bitsóí
  • Andrea Dine
  • Jacob Krah ’23
  • Krupa Sourirajan ’23

Marshals of the Trustees

  • Hannah Peters
  • Stephen Rodriguez

Marshals of the Honorary Degree Recipients

  • Lizbeth Hedstrom, GSAS PhD’86
  • Dorothee Kern
  • Anna Scherbina
  • Chad Williams

Marshals of the President’s Party

  • Dan Kim
  • Stewart Uretsky

Opening of the Exercises

  • Jennifer A. Cleary
    Senior Lecturer in Theater Arts


  • Rabbi Seth Winberg
    Senior Chaplain and Executive Director, Hillel

The National Anthem

  • Quinn Lucian Bonnyman ’23


  • Jennifer A. Cleary
    Senior Lecturer in Theater Arts


  • Lisa R. Kranc ’75
    Chair, Board of Trustees


  • Ronald D. Liebowitz
    President of the University

Conferring of Honorary Degrees

Recipients and Hosts

  • Annette Gordon-Reed,
    hosted by Chad Williams
  • Katalin Karikó,
    hosted by Dorothee Kern
  • Donald “Don” M. Soffer ’54,
    hosted by Anna Scherbina
  • Drew Weissman ’81, GSAS MA’81, P’15,
    hosted by Lizbeth Hedstrom, GSAS PhD’86

Commencement Address

  • Drew Weissman ’81, GSAS MA’81, P’15

Conferring of Degrees

School of Arts and Sciences

Undergraduate Student Address

  • Nathalie Monique Vieux-Gresham ’23, GSAS MS’23

Induction of Alumni

  • Lewis H. Brooks ’80, P’16
    President, Brandeis University Alumni Association

Presentation of Graduates

School of Arts and Sciences

Brandeis Alma Mater

  • Brandeis Chamber Choir


  • Anjum Biswas
    Hindu and Dharmic Chaplain


Back to Top