Nomination Information

To nominate a member of the Brandeis faculty for the Michael L. Walzer Award for Teaching, complete the nomination form.

Walzer '56 Award for Teaching

Brandeis students, faculty, and alumni are invited to nominate outstanding tenure-track faculty for the Michael L. Walzer '56 Award for Teaching.  This award is given every year to a tenure track faculty member who combines superlative scholarship with inspired teaching.

The award carries a stipend of $2,500 and will be presented at the faculty meeting in April 2018.

Past winners are: 

1982 Malcolm Watson Psychology
1983 Jeffrey Abramson Politics
1984 Martha Morrison Classical Studies
1985 James Merod English and American Literature
1986 Joseph G. Cunningham Psychology
1987 Andreas Teuber Philosophy
1988 Helena Michie English and American Literature
1989 William Flesch English and American Literature
1990 Philip Harper English and American Literature
1991 Marc Brettler Near Eastern and Judaic Studies
1992 Thomas Pochapsky Chemistry
1993 Mary Campbell English and American Literature
1994 Neil Simister Biology
1995 Jane Kamensky History
1996 Lynette Bosch Fine Arts
1997 Sarah Lamb Anthropology
1999 Govind Sreenivasan History
2000 Michael Randall Romance and Comparative Literature
2001 Chad Bown Economics
2002 ChaeRan Freeze Near Eastern and Judaic Studies
2003 Can Erbil Economics
2004 Derek Isaacowitz Psychology
2005 Janet McIntosh Anthropology
2006 Donald B. Katz Psychology and Neuroscience
2007 Adrianne Krstansky Theater Arts
2008  Wendy Cadge  Sociology 
2009 Peter Kalb  Fine Arts
2010 Maura Jane Farrelly American Studies
2011 Tory Fair Fine Arts
2012 Christine M. Thomas Chemistry
2013 Sara Shostak Sociology
2014 Xing Hang History
2015 Isaac Krauss Chemistry
2016 Jasmine Johnson African and Afro-American Studies and Women's, Gender and Sexuality Studies
2017 Derron Wallace Education and Sociology
2018 Anita Hannig Anthropology
2019 Naghmeh Sohrabi History