Theory Seminar

Except where otherwise noted, the seminars are held on Tuesdays at 11 am in Abelson 307 (directions to Abelson). The length of the talk depends on the mode of presentation: 60 minutes for a computer talk, and 80 minutes for a blackboard talk.

Jump to next seminar

Spring 2019 Seminars


Tuesday, January 15, 2019
Brian Swingle (University of Maryland)
"Universality in the Spread of Quantum Chaos"


Tuesday, January 22, 2019
No seminar (Brandeis Monday)


Tuesday, January 29, 2019
Jonathan Harper (Brandeis University)
"Bit Threads and Entanglement of Purification"


Tuesday, February 5, 2019
Andrew Rolph (Brandeis University)
"TT deformations and SYK"


Tuesday, February 12, 2019
Bogdan Stoica (Brandeis University)
"General relativity from p-adic strings and automorphic forms"


Tuesday, February 19, 2019
No seminar (Midterm Recess)


Tuesday, February 26, 2019
Harsha Hampapura (Brandeis University)
"Proving ANEC from GSL"


Tuesday, March 5, 2019
Alastair Grant-Stuart (Brandeis University)
"Algebraic holography"


Tuesday, March 12, 2019
Adolfo del Campo (UMass Boston)
"Extreme Decoherence and Quantum Chaos"


Tuesday, March 19, 2019
Jie-qiang Wu (MIT)
"Covariant phase space with boundaries"


Tuesday, March 26, 2019
Pranjal Nayak (University of Kentucky)
"Eigenstate thermalization (ETH) in the SYK model and the Schwarzian theory: an Analytic Approach"


Tuesday, April 2, 2019
Matthew Kleban (NYU)
"Black hole area quantization and gravitational waves"


Tuesday, April 9, 2019
An Huang (Brandeis University)
"A mathematical motivation of p-adic sigma models"


Tuesday, April 16, 2019
Ronak Soni (Stanford University)
"BRST v/s EPR"


Tuesday, April 23, 2019
No seminar (Passover and Spring Recess)


Tuesday, April 30, 2019
Mark Van Raamsdonk (University of British Columbia)
"Spacetime from bits and cosmology from black holes"