Network Switch Upgrade

Beginning in February 2019, ITS will begin a campus-wide refresh initiative that will replace over 300 network switches in every building.

The upgrade will replace aging network equipment to ensure that the thousands of devices that rely upon Brandeis’ networks are able to connect and function properly, while improving the campus-wide wired network performance and reliability. Brandeis’ campus network service provides academic, administrative departments and residential halls with highly reliable network equipment, as well as centralized support and monitoring.

Please use the schedule on this page to learn when the upgrades are planned for your area, and what to expect.

Network Switch Refresh Schedule

Location / Service Area Date Time
Athletics Complex Thursday, June 13 8:00 p.m. - 11:00 p.m.
60 Turner St Thursday, June 13 6:00 p.m. - 9:00 p.m.
Rabb Building (480 South St) Thursday, June 6 6:00 a.m. - 9:00 a.m.
Rose Art Museum Wednesday, June 5 6:00 a.m. - 8:00 a.m.
Volen Saturday, May 11 8:00 a.m. - 8:00 p.m
Bassine Science Building Saturday, May 11 8:00 a.m. - 8:00 p.m
Shapiro Science Center Saturday, May 4 2:00 p.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Rosenstiel Building Saturday, May 4 8:00 a.m. - 8:00 p.m
Lemberg Child Care Center Friday, April 26 6:00 p.m. - 10:00 p.m.
Epstein Friday, April 26 6:00 p.m. - 10:00 p.m.
Mailman House Thursday, April 25 6:00 p.m. - 2:00 a.m.
Usdan Student Center Thursday, April 25 6:00 p.m. - 2:00 a.m.
60 Turner Street Wednesday, April 24 6:00 p.m. - 2:00 a.m.
Gosman/Linsey Pool Wednesday, April 24 6:00 p.m. - 2:00 a.m.
Mandel Center for Humanities Wednesday, April 24 6:00 p.m. - 2:00 a.m.
Kutz Hall Tuesday, April 23 9:00 p.m. - 2:00 a.m.
Rabb School of Continuing Studies Tuesday, April 23 6:00 p.m. - 2:00 a.m.
Rabb Graduate Center Tuesday, April 23 6:00 p.m. - 2:00 a.m.
Shiffman Humanities Center Tuesday, April 23  9:00 p.m. - 2:00 a.m.
Libraries (Goldfarb, Farber) Tuesday, April 23 2:00 p.m. - 6:00 p.m.
Schneider Monday, April 22 6:00 p.m. - 2:00 a.m.
Heller School Monday, April 22 6:00 p.m. - 2:00 a.m.
Golding Monday, April 22 11:00 p.m. - 2:00 a.m.
Lemberg Academic Center Thursday, April 18 9:30 pm. - 2:00 a.m.

Sachar International Center

Thursday, April 18

9:30 p.m. - 2:00 a.m.

Olin-Sang

Thursday, April 18

8:30 p.m. - 2:00 a.m.
Lown Center for Judaica Studies

Thursday, April 18

6:00 p.m. - 2:00 a.m.

Abraham Shapiro Academic Complex

Thursday, April 18

6:00 p.m. - 2:00 a.m.
Foster Mods

Tuesday, March 12
Wednesday, March 13
Thursday, March 14

Several hours for each building during 9:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
567 South Street Apartments Thursday, February 28 Several hours for each building during 9:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Massel Quad (Deroy/Renfield/Shapiro) Wednesday, February 27 Several hours for each building during 9:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Rosenthal and Village C Tuesday, February 26 Several hours for each building during 9:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Charles River Apartments Monday, February 25

Several hours for each building during 9:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.

North Quad Buildings Thursday, February 21

Several hours for each building during 9:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. 

Ridgewood A, B, C and Village B Wednesday, February 20

Several hours for each building during 9:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.

Ziv Quad: 127, 128, 129 (Mazer Hall) and 130 Tuesday, February 19

Several hours for each building during 9:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.

Village A Thursday, February 14 10:00 a.m. - 2:00 p.m.
51 Sawyer Rd Wednesday, February 13 5:00 p.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Feldberg Communications Center Tuesday, February 5 6:00 p.m. - 12:00 a.m.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)