Sports in Brief

Chris Brown ’12

Brown Races to Record

Chris Brown ’12 set a school record in the 1,500-meter run at the New Balance Boston Twilight Meet at Bentley University. Brown’s  time of 3:43.49 was three seconds faster than any other NCAA Division III runner clocked in 2012 and was the sixth-fastest time in Division III history. For his efforts, Brown earned a mention in  “Faces in the Crowd” in Sports Illustrated. Brandeis Hall of Famer Mark Jung-Beeman ’85 owned the previous school record of 3:44.9.

Chris Brown ’12

Marianne Specker ’12

Softball Falls Just Shy of Crown

The Brandeis softball team reached the championship game of the ECAC Division III New England Tournament before falling to Endicott College, 7-6. The Judges finished 27-18. The team was led by five All-UAA selections, including Amanda Genovese ’15, who was named UAA Rookie of the Year. For the second year in a row, Marianne Specker ’12 was selected as a first-team Capital One Academic All-American.

Marianne Specker ’12

Baseball Players, Coach Honored

First baseman/designated hitter/pitcher Pat Nicholson ’11 and second baseman Sean O’Hare ’12 were named to the All-UAA baseball team. O’Hare was selected to play in the New England College All-Star Game, where assistant coach Brian Lambert ’98 was honored with the Kevin Burr Assistant Coach of the Year Award.

Staying on Point

Julian Cardillo ’14 finished 19th in the foil competition at the NCAA Fencing Championships, winning seven of his 23 matches. He placed 17th at the NCAAs as a freshman.

Morgan Kendrew ’12
Morgan Kendrew ’12

A Dazzling Dozen

At its annual spring awards dinner, the Department of Athletics recognized 12 athletes, all from the Class of 2012, with honors:

• Harry, Joseph and Ida Stein Award to the outstanding male athlete, Chris Brown (cross country and track and field)
• Max I. Silber Award to the outstanding female athlete, Morgan Kendrew (basketball)
• Athletic Director’s Awards for general excellence, Brittany Grimm (softball), Vytas Kriskus (basketball), Fran Shin (soccer) and Theo Terris (soccer)
• James McCully Award for character, dedication and good sportsmanship, Ari Silver (soccer) and Kate Warwick (cross-country and track and field)
• Morris Sepinuck Award for sportsmanship and contributions, Alex Tynan (baseball)
• Sid Goldfader Award of Valor for overcoming adversity, Alex Powell (fencing)
• Morry Stein Award of Valor for courage, Ed Senibaldi (soccer)
• Charlie Napoli ’58 Scholar-Athlete Award, Marianne Specker (softball)