Update on Dean of Arts & Sciences Search

Oct. 13, 2017

Dear colleagues,

I am delighted to update you on the state of the search for the next Dean of Arts and Sciences. A search committee has been formed and will be chaired by Professor Jané Kondev (Physics).  In addition, the committee will include the following A&S faculty members - Yu-Hui Chang (Music), Margie Lachman (Psychology), Jon Levisohn (NEJS), Govind Sreenivasan (History), Ramie Targoff (English); IBS faculty representative Carol Osler; staff representatives Karen Muncaster, VP for the Rabb School and Sheryl Sousa, VP for Student Affairs; and student representatives Mihir Khanna '18 and Sarah Mabry, A&S MA Candidate.
We have hired an external search firm, Isaacson, Miller, to assist the search committee, and the committee will have its first meeting with the firm next week.  The firm will also meet with other individuals and groups to hear their thoughts on opportunities and challenges that will face the next Dean and characteristics that they are hoping for in the next Dean
In the meanwhile, if there are candidates that you think would be particularly well suited for this position I would encourage you to send a note to the chair of the search committee.

Lisa M. Lynch

Provost and Maurice B. Hexter Professor of Social and Economic Policy
Brandeis University