Six Enter Linsey Hall of Fame

Six standout athletes whose careers spanned the first half-century of Brandeis sports history will be inducted into the 14th class of the Joseph Linsey Brandeis Athletic Hall of Fame on March 31: Ruth Porter Bernstein ’57, basketball player and past president of Friends of Brandeis Athletics; 
the late Harold Warren Zinn ’61, golf; Robert Nayer ’70, basketball; William Carpenter ’81, baseball; Geoff Getz ’99, middle-distance running; and Maya Marx ’04, swimming. (See individual athlete profiles in Class Notes.)

Men’s Soccer Wins ECAC Title

Photo of Jessica Johnson
Joe Eisenbies
The top-seeded men’s soccer team successfully defended its Eastern College Athletic Conference Division III New England tournament title, cruising by second-seeded Albertus Magnus College, 8-0. The Judges finished 15-5-1. Defensive midfielder Joe Eisenbies ’13 was named tournament Most Valuable Player after leading a defensive effort that produced three straight shutout wins.

Meehan Collects 300th Career Win

Photo of Brian Meehan
Brian Meehan

Men’s basketball coach Brian Meehan earned his 300th career victory on Dec. 3, 2011, when the Judges downed Babson, 61-53. One of 61 active Division III coaches to reach the milestone, Meehan is 300-122 overall and 140-83 at Brandeis.

Softball Flourishing Under Johnson

Photo of Jessica Johnson
Jessica Johnson

The softball team is bidding for its seventh straight 20-win season under coach Jessica Johnson. She was named the 2010 University Athletic Association Coach of the Year after leading the Judges to their first-ever NCAA tournament berth. They won the ECAC Division III New England title in 2008 and finished tied for second in 2011.

Visit New Brandeis Athletics Website

It’s now easier to keep up with Brandeis athletics. The new athletics website, features a results ticker along the top of the page, an easy-to-read calendar of events, enhanced video, and updated athlete bios and statistics.

Photos courtesy of Adam Levin

comments powered by Disqus