Brandeis Phi Beta Kappa elects 84 new members

Induction ceremony will take place during commencement weekend

The Brandeis chapter of Phi Beta Kappa elected 77 new members from the class of 2013 and seven new members from the class of 2014.

Stuart H. Altman, PhD, the Sol C. Chaikin Professor of National Health Policy, will speak at the 2013 initiation ceremony during commencement weekend.

The ceremony will take place at 1:30 p.m. on May 18, on the main stage of the Spingold Theater. It will be followed by a reception at 3 p.m. for all new Phi Beta Kappa members, and their families and friends.

Phi Beta Kappa is the oldest and most prestigious undergraduate honors organization in the United States. Founded at the College of William and Mary in 1776, its high and rigorous standards of excellence have made election to it one of the highest academic honors an undergraduate at a college in the United States can receive.

Brandeis University fielded a chapter of Phi Beta Kappa in 1962, putting it ahead of every other university in America in terms of the time it took the university from the moment of its founding to the moment it became eligible to establish a chapter.

Phi Beta Kappa electees from the Class of 2013
Avigael Moed Aizenman, Marc J. Alsina, Kristina A.  Birthisel, Rebecca E. Carden, Kai-Wei  Chang, Kaiyan  Chen, Lena Chen, Eunsoo  Chung, Gabriel F. Colton, Eitan B. Cooper, Jennifer L. Craig, Mengshan Cui, Andi Dai, Yael G. Dai, Avital H. DeSharone, Rachel E. Downs Caroline Abigail  Duchin, Jonathan  Edelstein, Alison L. Fessler, Michaela E. Greenbaum, Patricia C. Greene, Shen Guo, Ariana M. Hajmiragha, Maya K. Jacob, Julia B. Jerusalmi, Tiffany K. Johnson, Andrew D. Jung, Abigail  Kagan, Gabrielle C. Kaplan, Jesse S. Kass, Rebecca C. Kellogg, Samuel K  Kim, Sarah E. Koenig, Lanxin  Li, Eliana S. Light, Coleman R. Mahler, Mario N. Maletta, Laura C. Mandel, Evgenia E. Markvardt, Emily Margaret Messelaar, Zhuoxin Miao, Scott Mishan, Nicholas B. Monath, Janette M. Myette, Jonathan  Ostrowsky, Sarah E. Pace, Lien  Phung, Elizabeth H. Posner, Zane R. Relethford, Rebecca I. Richman, Suzanne I. Rothman, Shira B. Rubenstein, Sadye M. Sagov, Rebecca R. Sanders, Benjamin Sargent, Yosef G. Schaffel, Sarah Beth  Schneider, Leonard H. Schnier, Amy Marie  Schroeder, Alexander M. Self, Alexander  Sheehan, Julie P.  Shih, Michelle L. Sinnreich, Tali A. Smookler, Ariel A. Snyder, Melanie  Steinhardt, Samuel W. Stemper, Walker H. Stern, Elizabeth Stoker, Mitchell S. Tencer, Sophie M. Travis, Rachel L. Usnik, Roger Z.Yang, Anna N. Yankelev, Abigail N. Zadina, Jiaying  Zhang and Madeleine J. Ziff

Phi Beta Kappa electees from the Class of 2014
Skyler Whitman Kasko, Michael Dror Keselman, Corrie Elizabeth Legge, Maya Missouri Riser-Kositsky, Aaron Morris Schluger, Sara Shahanaghi, and Songyi Wang

Categories: Student Life

Return to the BrandeisNOW homepage