Larry Kanarek '76 steps down from Brandeis Board of Trustees

Larry Kanarek '76, chair of the Brandeis Board of Trustees, announced that he is stepping down from the Brandeis Board, effective July 18.

In a note to his fellow trustees, Kanarek wrote, “The past two years have been an exceptionally rewarding time for me at Brandeis, first leading the presidential search committee that resulted in the hiring of a new president, and then as your chair helping Ron settle into and become familiar with Brandeis, while working with you to bring about changes in the board’s structure, the issues on which it focuses and how it works together. This required a nearly full-time commitment on my part during which I put aside some other significant personal and professional commitments. Now that Ron is fully integrated into Brandeis and with a very successful first year under his belt, I feel the time is right to step down. I will of course remain close to Brandeis and continue to be one of this great university’s most committed alumni. I hope to find other ways to contribute to Brandeis, which changed the arc of my life.

“I am confident that with your leadership and Ron’s, Brandeis’ best days lie ahead,” Kanarek added.

A board member since 2010, Kanarek has been deeply involved with the university for decades. In the 1990s, he led the development of the strategic plan for the Brandeis International Business School, and sat on its Board of Overseers. He led the fundraising campaign to establish an endowed scholarship in honor of economics professor Barney Schwalberg, and supported the Joel Friedland ’76 Endowed Study Abroad Scholarship, among other initiatives.

“I have appreciated being able to work so closely with Larry during my first year at Brandeis,” said President Ron Liebowitz. “Larry’s love for this university is both palpable and inspiring. I know I speak for my colleagues on campus and members of the board when I say how grateful we are to Larry for his passionate commitment to Brandeis and that we look forward to continuing a warm relationship.”

The process for the selection of the next board chair begins with the board’s Nominating and Governance Committee. That group will consult with President Liebowitz and with other trustees in a process that is broadly consultative before bringing a recommendation to the full board. In the interim, board vice chairs Meyer Koplow ’72, P’02, P’05, Lisa Kranc ’75 and Cynthia Shapira will serve as interim co-chairs and collaboratively fill the responsibilities of the board chair.

Categories: Alumni, General, Student Life

Return to the BrandeisNOW homepage