VIDEO: Exploration without boundaries wins Brandeis scientists a Nobel Prize


Biology professor Michael Rosbash praised Brandeis University for allowing him to “explore without boundaries” after being named a co-recipient of the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine on Oct. 2, 2017, for research on circadian rhythms.

Rosbash won the honor along with Jeffrey Hall, a Brandeis professor emeritus of biology, and Rockefeller University’s Michael Young.

Though Rosbash and Hall have earned dozens of academic awards and honors throughout their distinguished careers, they are the first long-time Brandeis faculty members to win a Nobel Prize.

Brandeis President Ron Liebowitz, Provost Lisa Lynch, Victor and Gwendolyn Beinfield Professor of Neuroscience Eve Marder and Director of the Volen National Center for Complex Systems Leslie Griffith all offered their praise of both Brandeis scientists before Rosbash made formal remarks and took questions from the media.

Categories: General, Research, Science and Technology, Student Life

Return to the BrandeisNOW homepage