Students honored for academic achievement, service to community

Photos/Mike Lovett

The awards and prizes for the 2017-18 academic year

The Office of Student Life recognized outstanding members of the Brandeis study body on April 27, 2018 for their service to the community, character and academic achievement.

Assistant Dean of Student Life Stephanie K. Grimes presided over the annual Prizes & Awards Ceremony, which was attended by numerous students, parents, university administrators and Waltham Mayor Jeanette McCarthy.

“The Student Life Awards are a tradition at Brandeis the highlight the contributions to citizenship, leadership and academic excellence,” Grimes said. “These are remarkable students, leaders and citizens who choose to give back to others over themselves. I am confident that they will change the world and impact lives even after they leave this campus.”

Student Life Award

Sivan Ertel ‘18
Deena Fisch ‘18
Ceara Genovesi ‘18
Elias Rosenfeld ‘20

Kappa Eta Sigma Award

Sarah Ernst ‘20
Hangil Ryu ‘20

Undergraduate Departmental Representative Awards

Selen Amado ‘18 & Caroline Kaye ‘18
Rebecca Kahn ‘19
Roza Azene ‘18

Kukin Moskowitz Prize for Excellence 

Jade Eckels ‘18

Zachary Kolar ‘18

Prize for graduating senior for academic achievement, character, and leadership w/ commitment to excellence.

Textile Veterans Association Honor Award

Jennifer Almodovar ‘18

To a graduating senior who has evidenced outstanding extracurricular activities leadership.

Joseph and Ida Burtman Award

Jake Greenberg ‘18

To a student who displays scholarship and general leadership.

Katherine A. Chernosky Memorial Award

Jacob Edelman ‘18

Yiyi Wu ‘19

To an individual whose manner of living embodies mature, conscientious dedication to duty, family and friends.

Edwin E. Hokin Memorial Prize

Marissa Lazaroff ‘18

To a student who demonstrates ideals of community service and good citizenship.

Michael Kalafatas ’65 Admissions Prize

Ruaidhri Belfry Crofton ‘18

To an outstanding Brandeis senior who has greatly contributed to the admissions process throughout his/her time at the university. Recipient of the prize should be identified by the Office of Admissions.

Richard Kaufman ‘58 Memorial Prize

Selen Amado ‘18

Sherry Chen ‘18

Lauren Cohen ‘18

Yael Jaffe ‘18

Heather DeNoble ‘18

Julia Wolinsky ‘18

Student(s) who demonstrates leadership in campus activities and who, through academic achievement, exemplifies the well-rounded student who is likely to have a lifelong interest in their fellow man.

David Alexander ‘79 Memorial Award

Amber Abernathy ‘18

Cacildia Cain ‘18

Chosen by students - a student who is a leader in social consciousness and activism.

Linda Heller Kamm ’61 Prize

Yiyi Wu ‘19

Chosen by students - a student who has demonstrated leadership in the advocacy of social justice.

Harry S. Levitan Prize

Vineet Vishwanath ‘18

Wenli Bao ‘18

To a student who displays kindliness, sympathetic understanding, and high moral character (academic grades not to be considered, although students must meet acceptable academic standards).

Herman and Bessie Blum Memorial Award

Jordan Kaufman ‘19

Rose Monahan ‘19

To a junior/s who contribute to the well-being of their fellow students through kindness and consideration.

Robert B. Sherman ’67 Memorial Prize

Sophia Bailey Warren ‘18

Student must have demonstrated a strong commitment to enhancing social diversity and cooperation, to promoting social welfare through political thought and activism, and to helping people achieve their rights.

Bruce R. Mayper Memorial Award

Philip Cooper ‘18

LaShawn Simmons ‘18

To two students for general activities promoting interracial amity or for individual work in the field of interracial relations.

Maurice L. Shaer Memorial Prize

Anthony Fong ‘21

Kwesi Jones ‘21

Rasheed Peters ‘20

Myles Porter ‘20

Hannah Brown ‘19

Maya London ‘19

To deserving freshmen, sophomores and/or juniors who are receiving financial aid at Brandeis. One freshman, one sophomore and one junior.

Rose Schlow Award

Michelle Dennis ‘18

Alvin Liu ‘18

To a student outstanding for his/her good citizenship and contributions to the welfare of the student body.

Jacob and Bella Thurman Award

Herlyne Das ‘18

Eben Holderness ‘18

Ben Palmere ‘18

To student or students who have demonstrated the highest type of social citizenship.

Student Employee of the Year Award

Kerri Gardner ‘18

Brandeis National Committee Presidential Award

Roza Azene ‘18

The Brandeis National Committee selects a junior who demonstrates leadership in campus activities and who through academic acheivement, exemplifies the well-rounded student, a library work student, if possible.

Categories: General

Return to the BrandeisNOW homepage