John Paul Lederach named winner of 2019 Gittler Prize

John Paul LederachPhoto/courtesy: Kroc Institute for International Peace Studies, University of Notre Dame

John Paul Lederach

John Paul Lederach, a renowned scholar, theorist and practitioner of peacebuilding and conflict transformation, has been named by Brandeis University as the 2019 winner of the Joseph B. and Toby Gittler Prize.

Widely known for his development of culturally appropriate approaches to conflict transformation, Lederach has applied his methods in areas of conflict around the world as a mediator, negotiator, trainer and consultant. He is author and editor of 24 books and manuals, including “Building Peace: Sustainable Reconciliation in Divided Societies” and “The Moral Imagination: The Art and Soul of Building Peace.”

“We are delighted to welcome John Paul Lederach to Brandeis as the 2019 recipient of the Gittler Prize. Professor Lederach’s innovative scholarship and inspiring work in the field have provided clear pathways toward a more peaceful world,” Brandeis President Ron Liebowitz said. “I look forward to welcoming him to campus.”

Lederach will visit Brandeis for a three-day residency from October 29 to 31, which will include an award ceremony and public lecture on October 30.

As a senior fellow at Humanity United, Lederach works extensively as a practitioner in conciliation processes in Latin America, Africa, and Southeast and Central Asia. He is also a member of the Advisory Council for the recently formed Truth Commission in Colombia.

Lederach is Professor Emeritus of International Peacebuilding at the Joan B. Kroc Institute for International Peace Studies at the University of Notre Dame, where he previously served as director of the Peace Accord Matrix research initiative, and was the founding director for the Center for Justice and Peacebuilding at Eastern Mennonite University.

The Joseph B. and Toby Gittler Prize was created in 2007 by the late Professor Joseph B. Gittler to recognize outstanding and lasting scholarly contributions to racial, ethnic and/or religious relations. It is named after Gittler and his mother, Toby. The Joseph B. and Toby Gittler Endowed Fund at Brandeis University supports this annual award that includes a $25,000 prize and a medal.

The prize is administered by the International Center for Ethics, Justice and Public Life on behalf of the Office of the President of Brandeis University. Previous Gittler Prize winners include Beverly Daniel Tatum, Kimberle Crenshaw, Martha Minow, Gustavo Gutiérrez and Patricia Hill Collins '69, PhD '84.

Categories: Alumni, Humanities and Social Sciences, International Affairs, Research

Return to the BrandeisNOW homepage