orientation banner

Congratulations on becoming a member of the Brandeis community of scholars at the Graduate School of Arts and Sciences. We have prepared a list of resources to help you make the transition to Brandeis.


2017 New Student Orientation Schedule

We look forward to welcoming you to Brandeis. Our goal is to inform you about the myriad resources available on campus and enable you to create connections with other members of your new community. We ask that you take an active role in the orientation process and come prepared to have fun. Follow us on Facebook and Twitter for more orientation information. 

Monday, August 28th:
9:00am - 1:30pm - Check with your academic department's administrator (contact information below)
1:00pm - 1:30pm - Check in and meet your Orientation Leader (Shapiro Campus Center Theater)
1:30pm - 2:00pm - Brief Campus Tour in Orientation Groups
2:00pm - 4:10pm - Orientation Sessions (Shapiro Campus Center Theater/ Science Complex)
4:15pm - 5:00pm - International Student Orientation (Shapiro Campus Center Theater)*
5:30pm - 8:30pm - English Language Diagnostic Exam (Location Pending)*
*International Students Only. Questions can be directed to Sara Wagner swagner@brandeis.edu.

Tuesday, August 29th:
9:00am - 1:45pm - TF/TA/CA Orientation (Shapiro Campus Center Theater)*
10:00am - 1:45pm - Campus Resource Sessions
2:00pm - Graduate Student Welcome BBQ (Chapels Field)
*Mandatory for anyone with teaching responsibilities or who wants to teach this year.


Opportunities to Complete I-9 Documentation

Staff will be available to verify your documentation on: 

Monday, August 21st from 9:00 am-11:00 am and 2:00 pm-4:00 pm in Kutz 219 
Tuesday, August 22nd from 2:00 pm-4:00 pm in Kutz 219 
Wednesday, August 23rd from 9:00 am-11:00 am and  2:00 pm-4:00 pm in Kutz 219 
Thursday, August 24th from 9:00 am-11:00 am and 2:00 pm-4:00 pm in Kutz 219 
Friday, August 25th from 9:00 am-11:00 am in Kutz 219 ​​​​​
Monday, August 28th from 9:00 am-1:00 pm in Kutz 219 
Tuesday, August 29 that 1:45 pm immediately following TF and CA orientation

Please come with the required original documentation to complete the process, otherwise you will be asked to return with the appropriate documents. 


Parking During Orientation

Students will be able to park behind the theater lot during orientation. They will need to sign in at the Shapiro Campus center. See the larger version of our campus map for more information. 

Campus Map

Academic Department Administrators

Ancient Greek and Roman Studies, Heidi Mcallister (hmcallister@brandeis.edu)
Anthropology
, Laurel Carpenter (lcarpent@brandeis.edu)
Biochemistry and Biophysics, Science Graduate Office (scigradoffice@brandeis.edu)
Biotechnology, Science Graduate Office (scigradoffice@brandeis.edu)
Chemistry, 
Science Graduate Office (scigradoffice@brandeis.edu)
Comparative Humanities, Alyssa Ring (afabrizio@brandeis.edu)
Computational Linguistics, Anne Gudaitis (gudaitis@brandeis.edu)
Computer Science, Anne Gudaitis (gudaitis@brandeis.edu)
English, Lisa Pannella (pannella@brandeis.edu
Genetic Counseling, Missy Goldberg (goldberg@brandeis.edu)
Global Studies, Mangok Mach Bol (mbol@brandeis.edu)
History, Dona Delorenzo (delorenz@brandeis.edu)
Hornstein; Jewish Professional Leadership, Carol Hengerle (hengerle@brandeis.edu)
Mathematics, Catherine Broderick (cbroderi@brandeis.edu
Molecular and Cell Biology, Science Graduate Office (scigradoffice@brandeis.edu
Music Composition and Theory, Mark Kagan (kagan@brandeis.edu)
Musicology
, Mark Kagan (kagan@brandeis.edu)
Near Eastern and Judaic Studies, Joanne Arnish (jarnish@brandeis.edu)
Neuroscience, Science Graduate Office (scigradoffice@brandeis.edu)
Philosophy, Julie Seeger (jseeger@brandeis.edu)
Physics, Science Graduate Office (scigradoffice@brandeis.edu)
Politics, Rosanne Colocouris (colocour@brandeis.edu
Premedical Studies, Kate Stutz (stutz@brandeis.edu
Psychology, Sarah Lupis (slupis@brandeis.edu)
Sociology, Lauren Jordahl (ljordahl@brandeis.edu)
Studio Art, Christine Dunant (cdunant@brandeis.edu)
Teaching Chinese, Alyssa Ring (afabrizio@brandeis.edu)
Women's, Gender and Sexuality Studies, Shannon Hunt (shunt@brandeis.edu)