Brandeis National Committee honors President Reinharz, and welcomes a new leader

Leslie Pearlstein becomes president of the BNC

At its annual national meeting last week, the Brandeis National Committee awarded university President Jehuda Reinharz with its highest honor: the Abram L. Sachar Award. Named after Brandeis' first president, the award recognizes an individual of outstanding achievement and rare accomplishment in education; Reinharz joined a distinguished list of previous recipients, including historian Doris Kearns Goodwin (1977) and Joyce Antler (2008), the Samuel B. Lane Professor of American Jewish History and Culture and Women's and Gender Studies at Brandeis.

The BNC also recognized another pair of presidents during its meeting — Carol Kern who was stepping down as the group's national leader, and Leslie Pearlstein, who succeeded her.

Return to the BrandeisNOW homepage