Around Campus

Brandeis University Press book named finalist for 2017 National Jewish Book AwardPosted: Jan. 16, 2018

“Jewish Justices of the Supreme Court from Brandeis to Kagan: Their lives and legacies,” written by David Dalin PhD’77 and published by Brandeis University Press, has been named a finalist for the 2017 National Jewish Book Award in the biography, autobiography and memoir category.

Dalin’s book offers a comprehensive look at the personal lives, legal careers and legacies of the eight Jews who have served on the U.S. Supreme Court – Louis Brandeis, Benjamin Cardozo, Felix Frankfurter, Arthur Goldberg, Abe Fortas, Ruth Bader Ginsburg, Stephen G. Breyer and Elena Kagan.

Louis Brandeis, the university’s namesake, became the first Jew on the Supreme Court in 1916 after being appointed by President Woodrow Wilson.

Dalin discusses the relationship each Jewish justice had with the president who appointed them and also investigates how anti-Semitism may have affected their respective confirmation processes.

The book also dives into the changing role of Jews within American jurisprudence and the Jewish justices’ opinions on issues including freedom of speech, freedom of religion, the death penalty, privacy and gender equality.

Steve Whitfield, the Max Richter Professor of American Civilization, also reviewed the book.

Carina Ray awarded the Aidoo-Snyder Book PrizePosted: Dec. 5, 2017
Associate Professor of African and Afro-American Studies Carina Ray was presented with the Aidoo-Snyder Book Prize in a ceremony Nov. 18 in Chicago.

The prize is awarded by the Women’s Caucus of the African Studies Association for an outstanding book published by a woman that prioritizes African women’s experiences. Named in honor of Ama Ata Aidoo, the celebrated Ghanaian novelist and short-story writer, and Margaret Snyder, the founding Director of UNIFEM, the prize seeks to acknowledge the excellence of contemporary scholarship being produced by women about African women.

Ray received the prize for her book, "Crossing the Color Line: Race, Sex, and the Contested Politics of Colonialism in Ghana." The book is also the recipient of the American Historical Association’s 2016 Wesley-Logan Book Prize for African Diaspora History, and a finalist for the United Kingdom African Studies Association’s Fage and Oliver Prize.

More information on the award can be found on the Women’s Caucus of the African Studies Association's website.
Recent notable media coveragePosted: Dec. 4, 2017
Matthew Sheehy named University LibrarianPosted: Nov. 27, 2017

Provost Lisa M. Lynch made the following announcement to the Brandeis community on Nov. 28:

Dear Members of the Brandeis community,

I am delighted to announce that after an exhaustive search that generated more than 40 applications from across the country, Matthew Sheehy will be the new Brandeis University Librarian.  As detailed by the search committee, Matthew stood out among a large and highly qualified group of applicants. His background, experience, work with other universities, and management skills all make him more than qualified to take on this position in a permanent capacity.

I want to thank the search committee members, Kate Moran, Philosophy (chair), Mark Brimhall-Vargas, CDO and VP for Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion, Karen Desmond, Music, April French, History (Graduate Student Representative), Sylvia Fuks Fried, Director, Tauber Institute, Kim Godsoe, Associate Provost for Academic Affairs, Isaac Kurtz, Undergraduate Representative, Laura Miller, Sociology, Fernando Rosenberg, Hispanic Studies and Comparative Literature, and Barry Snider, Chemistry for their time and commitment to this search.

Please join me in congratulating Matthew on this appointment!

Best regards,

Lisa M. Lynch
Provost and Maurice B. Hexter Professor of Social and Economic Policy
Brandeis University

Brandeis volleyball's Yvette Cho named second-team All-University Athletic AssociationPosted: Nov. 13, 2017
yvette cho playing volleyballPhoto/Sportspix

Yvette Cho

Brandeis University junior libero Yvette Cho of San Diego, California, has been named a second-team All-University Athletic Association (UAA) team member by conference coaches.

Cho leads the Judges in digs with 481, while her 5.06 digs per set rank third in the UAA. She also leads Brandeis with 47 service aces, and ranks second in the UAA with 0.49 service aces per set. Earlier this season she became the 14th player in school history with 1,000 career digs and currently sits sixth on the career list with 1,389. She boasts two seasons in her career with more than 400 digs, one of five Judges to perform that feat, while her 5.06 digs per set is on pace to be a Brandeis single-season record.

Cho has only missed three sets all season long, playing 95 of a possible 98. She has been a key piece of the Judges' 15-14 record and first post-season berth since 2012. Brandeis takes on Brooklyn College (17-14) this evening in the first round of the Eastern College Athletic Conference tournament. With a first-round win, Brandeis will clinch its first winning season since 2012.

Cho is the first Brandeis player to earn All-UAA honors of any type since 2012.

Richman/Gittler Corner unveiled in Farber LibraryPosted: Oct. 31, 2017
President Liebowitz opens a ceremony with a ribbon cuttingPhoto/Mike Lovett

From Left: Elizabeth Ferry, Carol Richman Saivetz, Kimberlé Crenshaw, Ron Liebowitz and Matthew Sheehy.

An area in Farber Library has been dedicated to celebrating past winners of the Gittler Prize and Richman Fellowship.

The Richman/Gittler Library Corner features comfortable seating with a view, a bookshelf with a selection of the prizewinners' works, and a touchscreen interactive exhibit with short video clips from the prizewinners' campus talks and interviews, photos from their campus visits, and bios. 

The new area was officially dedicated in a ribbon cutting ceremony Oct. 25 with Brandeis President Ronald Liebowitz, Interim University Librarian Matthew Sheehy, Professor Elizabeth Ferry, Carol Richman Saivetz '69 and Gittler Prize winner Kimberlé Crenshaw.

"The Richman Fellowship and Gittler Prize stand as living symbols of Brandeis values and the university's commitment to diversity and positive engagement in public life," Liebowitz said during the ceremony. "We hope that you will come often to this space and review their works and their words, to be intellectually stimulated, to be challenged, and most of all to let their words and ideals inform your thinking and action. That is, to let these change-makers change you."

Saivetz, whose family established the Richman Fellowship with a donation, admired the views of wetlands and foliage from the windows in the corner.

"I love the space," she said. "You couldn't have picked a better spot."

The Richman Fellowship recognizes individuals active in public life whose contributions have had a significant impact on improving American society, strengthening democratic institutions, advancing social justice or increasing opportunities for all citizens to realize and share in the benefits of this nation. The Gittler Prize recognizes outstanding and lasting scholarly contributions to racial, ethnic and/or religious relations. Both are hosted by the International Center for Ethics, Justice and Public Life on behalf of the Office of the President.

The ribbon cutting preceded Crenshaw's Gittler Prize lecture and medal ceremony, which took place in Rapaporte Treasure Hall.