International Advisory Board


International Advisory Board Members at the 2013 Annual Meeting

The distinguished leaders and activists who comprise the Advisory Board are charged with shaping the Center’s work. Representing politics, law, scholarship, activism, the arts, and other fields, the board members' extraordinary diversity of experience provides the Center a unique opportunity to develop ideas that cross usual professional and disciplinary boundaries. The inaugural meeting was March 7, 2000. The Board meets formally on an annual basis.

For bios of former members of the board, click here.

For bios of the current members of the board, click here, or click on a name below.

Richard J. Goldstone
H '04
Justice of the Constitutional Court (retired) South Africa
Founding Chair
Theodore C. Sorensen (1928-2010) Distinguished Lawyer, Author, John F. Kennedy Advisor and Speechwriter New York
Jules Bernstein '57 Labor Lawyer Washington D.C.
Thomas Buergenthal
H '11
Former Judge of the International Court of Justice Washington D.C.
Hans Corell Former Under-Secretary-General for Legal Affairs and Legal Counsel of the United Nations Sweden
Jamie F. Metzl Partner, Cranemere LLC and Senior Fellow at the Asia Society New York
Zia Mody Partner, AZB & Partners India
Ahmedou Ould-Abdallah

President of the Center for Strategies and Security for the Sahel Sahara

John Shattuck President of Central European University Hungary
Gillian Sorensen 2014 Fellow, Advanced Leadership Initiative at Harvard University New York
Norbert Weissberg Chairman, Package Research Laboratory LLC and Stapling Machines Company LLC New York