Inaugural Symposia Moderators

Judith Shapiro '63

Photo of Judith Shapiro

Dr. Judith Shapiro graduated magna cum laude from Brandeis University and earned her Ph.D. from Columbia University.

She became the first woman to be appointed to the Department of Anthropology at the University of Chicago and then went on to become the chair of the Anthropology Department, dean of the Undergraduate College and provost at Bryn Mawr College. She then served for 14 years as president of Barnard College.

Aside from her scholarly publications, her views and work have been widely published in the New York Times, the Chronicle of Higher Education, the Boston Globe, and U.S. News and World Report. She was named one of Vanity Fair's "200 Most Influential Women in America" in 1998 and won the National Institute of Social Science's Gold Medal Award for her contributions to women's education.

Dr. Shapiro is a member of the American Philosophical Society, the prominent scholarly and professional association founded in the mid-18th century by Benjamin Franklin. She is also a member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, and has served as president of the American Ethnological Society.


Michael Sandel '75

Photo of Michael Sandel

Dr. Michael Sandel graduated summa cum laude, Phi Beta Kappa from Brandeis University and received his D.Phil from Oxford University, where he was a Rhodes Scholar.

He is currently a member of the Brandeis University Board of Trustees and the Anne T. and Robert M. Bass Professor of Government at Harvard University. His latest book, "Justice: What’s the Right Thing to Do?," a New York Times bestseller, relates big questions of philosophy to the most vexing issues of our time. His writings, which range across topics of ethics, justice, law and democracy, have been translated into 15 foreign languages.

His undergraduate course "Justice" has enrolled over 15,000 students, and is the first Harvard course to be made freely available online and on public television. Dr. Sandel has served on the President's Council on Bioethics and is a member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. In 2000, he was awarded an honorary degree from Brandeis University.