Beverly Tatum named winner of 2018 Gittler Prize by Brandeis University

A renowned authority on racial identity and resegregation, Tatum has raised important questions and sparked dialogue for decades.

Dr. Beverly Tatum

Dr. Beverly Daniel Tatum, a renowned authority on racial identity and resegregation in America, has been named the 2018 winner of the Gittler Prize. Tatum will visit campus for a residency and award ceremony in October 2018.

The Joseph B. and Toby Gittler Prize, established in 2007, recognizes outstanding and lasting scholarly contributions to racial, ethnic and/or religious relations.

Tatum was president of Spelman College from 2002 until her retirement in 2015, when she was named president emeritus. Her 1997 book, “Why Are All The Black Kids Sitting Together in the Cafeteria? And Other Conversations About Race,” is a critically acclaimed national bestseller. Tatum is also the author of “Assimilation Blues: Black Families in a White Community,” published in 1987 and “Can We Talk About Race?: And Other Conversations in an Era of School Resegregation,” published in 2007. She has conducted workshops and spoken on issues of racial identity across the country.

Along with her books and thought leadership, Tatum has had an illustrious career in higher education. She was professor of psychology and education at Mount Holyoke College for 13 years, where she later was appointed dean and vice president for student affairs. She served as acting president at Mount Holyoke before becoming president at Spelman College.

“Beverly Tatum has been raising important questions and encouraging innovative dialogues on issues of race for more than three decades,” Brandeis President Ron Liebowitz said. "Her work is brilliant, and a model for all in the academy. Her experience as an influential college administrator will add important insights to the conversation on these critical issues.”

The Gittler Prize was created by the late Professor Joseph B. Gittler, and is named after Gittler and his mother, Toby. The Joseph B. and Toby Gittler Endowed Fund at Brandeis University supports this annual award that includes a $25,000 prize and a medal. Previous Gittler Prize winners include Martha Minow (2015-16), Gustavo Gutiérrez (2014) and Patricia Hill Collins '69, PhD '84 (2013).

The 2017 winner, Dr. Kimberlé Crenshaw, will visit campus and receive her prize in a ceremony on Wednesday, October 25, 2017 at 4 p.m. in Rapaporte Treasure Hall, Goldfarb Library.

The prize is hosted by the International Center for Ethics, Justice and Public Life on behalf of the Office of the President of Brandeis University.

Categories: Alumni, Humanities and Social Sciences

Return to the BrandeisNOW homepage