Staff celebrated for their dedication and commitment

The annual Employee Recognition Awards cited two outstanding employees and recognized staff members celebrating milestones with Brandeis

From Left to right: Brandeis President Ron Liebowitz,, Gwenn Smaxwill PhD ’04, Taneeta Bacon P ’06, Tim O’Neil, vice president of human resources Robin Nelson BaileyPhoto/Mike Lovett

From left to right: Brandeis President Ron Liebowitz; Gwenn Smaxwill, MMHS’04, recognized for 40 years of service to Brandeis; Taneeta Bacon P ’06, winner of the Louis and Helen Zirkel Staff Award; Tim O’Neil, MS’12, winner of the Lou Ennis Staff Award; Vice President of Human Resources Robin Nelson Bailey.

Brandeis University staff members were recognized for service milestones, and two were presented with annual staff awards during the Employee Recognition Awards ceremony May 24 at Sherman Function Hall.

The Lou Ennis Staff Award recognizes an individual who demonstrates loyalty and dedication to the university and its mission by surpassing the requirements of the job. It was given to Director for Academic Media Technology Tim O'Neil, MS'12, who was introduced by Elias Jacobson, digital media and conferencing lead for Media Technology Services.

"I know there are a lot of people at Brandeis from across different departments and schools who are very happy to see Tim get formally recognized,” Jacobson said. “He has impacted the community positively in countless ways, mainly because of his general inclination to say 'Yes' whenever possible and to seek creative solutions to the various requests and challenges that come through routinely."

The Louis and Helen Zirkel Staff Award is given to a member of the support staff who has demonstrated consistent effort to improve the service and the operation of their department and of the university. It was awarded to Taneeta Bacon, P'06, department coordinator in the Department of Community Living. She was introduced by Assistant Dean of Student Affairs Timothy Touchette.

"Taneeta has a gift that allows everyone she interacts with to feel heard and validated as members of our Brandeis community,” Touchette said. “She is a role model to everyone in our department, and I have learned so much about how to serve our students by watching how Taneeta works with them.”

Both O’Neil and Bacon received a $500 award in addition to having their names engraved on a plaque that recognizes past winners of the awards.

Along with the two award winners, Gwenn Smaxwill, director summer and continuing studies at the Rabb School for Continuing Studies, was acknowledged for 40 years of service to the university. The luncheon also celebrated staff members for service milestones of 10, 15, 20, 25, 30 and 35 years.

Categories: General

Return to the BrandeisNOW homepage