The Framework for the Future

Supporting Research, Creativity and Collaborative Innovation

This task force was asked to evaluate how a more effective research infrastructure can be created, one that supports the advancement, financial support and visibility of research, scholarship and creative work at Brandeis, and that promotes our historical strength in collaboration and exploring across boundaries. This group was asked to deliver specific recommendations based on its work in the form of a succinct report to be delivered to the president by mid-spring. 

The task force gathered and benchmarked data on competitive federal and philanthropic funding for research, creative endeavors and innovation, and on the impact and recognition of achievements in research, scholarship and creative work. The group assessed existing and nascent opportunities for collaboration vertically among undergraduates, graduate students, faculty and staff, and horizontally within and between Brandeis schools, departments, centers and institutes and between Brandeis and other institutions.

The group worked to ascertain the most significant challenges to research and creative productivity including infrastructure and organization, develop proposals for overcoming these challenges, and identify new opportunities for faculty and for all members of the Brandeis community.

Read the Reports


Constance Horgan
Constance Horgan
Professor and Director, Institute for Behavioral Health
Sacha Nelson
Sacha Nelson
Gyula and Katica Tauber Professor of Life Science
781-736-3181 Carl J. Shapiro Science Center, 1-21

Ex-Officio Member

Lisa M. Lynch
Lisa M. Lynch
781-736-2101 Irving Presidential Enclave 102


Bonnie Berger

Luis Croquer
Henry and Lois Foster Director and Chief Curator, Rose Art Museum

Michael Dettelbach
Assistant Vice President, Corporate and Foundation Relations

Irving Epstein
Henry F. Fischbach Professor of Chemistry

Elizabeth Ferry
Professor of Anthropology

Angela Gutchess
Associate Professor of Psychology

Edward Hackett
Vice Provost for Research

Karen Hansen
Professor of Sociology, and Women’s, Gender and Sexuality Studies; Director of the Women’s Studies Research Center

Steven Karel
Senior Research and Technology Specialist, Division of Science

Jytte Klausen
Lawrence A. Wien Professor of International Cooperation

Jané Kondev
Professor of Physics

Rebecca Menapace
Associate Provost for Innovation; Executive Director, Office of Technology Licensing and the Hassenfeld Family Innovation Center

Debarshi Nandy
Professor of Finance, International Business School

Gregory Petsko
Trustee; Professor Emeritus of Biochemistry

Matthew Sheehy
University Librarian

Ramie Targoff
Jehuda Reinharz Director, Mandel Center for the Humanities; Professor of English

Cindy Thomas
Professor and Associate Dean for Research, Heller School

Jonathan Unglaub
Associate Professor of Fine Arts

Stephen Van Hooser
Associate Professor of Biology

Working Groups