Brandeis International Business School

Statue of liberty and a dollar bill

The Future of Capitalism

The 2021 Asper Award for Global Entrepreneurship

The 2021 Asper Award for Global Entrepreneurship

The Asper Award for Global Entrepreneurship is given annually to a person who best exemplifies Brandeis International Business School's values of entrepreneurial spirit and independent thinking.

This year's award recipient is Deval L. Patrick, who spearheaded innovations in health care, clean energy, biotechnology and international trade while serving as governor of Massachusetts from 2007 to 2015.

Event Recap

Award Recipient

Deval L. Patrick

Deval L. Patrick

Governor of Massachusetts, 2007-2015

During his eight-year tenure, Governor Deval L. Patrick helped revive a battered economy through the expansion of affordable health care to more than 98 percent of state residents, launched initiatives stimulating clean energy and biotechnology, won a national Race to the Top educational grant, steered the state to a 25-year high in employment, and made unprecedented investments in Massachusetts public schools. By the end of Governor Patrick's term, the state ranked first in the nation in student achievement, energy efficiency, veterans services and entrepreneurship.

Read Full Biography


Len Asper

Leonard Asper '86

President and CEO, Anthem Sports & Entertainment Corp.

Leonard Asper, B.A., L.L.B., L.L.D, is the president, CEO and majority shareholder of Anthem Sports & Entertainment Corp., a media company that owns and operates content platforms targeting distinct communities in areas including music, combat sports, sports gaming, e-sports and hunting and fishing.

Prior to founding Anthem, Mr. Asper was CEO of Canwest Global Communications Corp., one of Canada’s largest media companies, a post he held for over 10 years.

Mr. Asper serves on the Board of Overseers of the International Business School at Brandeis University, where he founded the Asper School for Global Entrepreneurship. Before that, he also served for several terms on the Board of Trustees of the University.

Kathryn Graddy

Kathryn Graddy

Dean, Brandeis International Business School

Kathryn Graddy is the dean of Brandeis International Business School and the Fred and Rita Richman Distinguished Professor in Economics. Graddy has held numerous leadership positions at Brandeis University. Graddy’s research focuses on the economics of art, culture and, more generally, industrial organization.

Ron Liebowitz

Ronald D. Liebowitz

President, Brandeis University

Ronald D. Liebowitz became Brandeis University’s ninth president on July 1, 2016. The former president of Middlebury College, Liebowitz is a recognized administrative leader in higher education, whose academic scholarship centers on political geography, Russia and higher education.

Lisa Lynch

Lisa M. Lynch

Maurice B. Hexter Professor of Social and Economic Policy
Heller School for Social Policy and Management

Lisa M. Lynch, is the Maurice B. Hexter Professor of Social and Economic Policy in Brandeis University's Heller School for Social Policy and Management. Previously, she served as Brandeis University's Provost and Executive Vice President of Academic Affairs from 2014-15 and 2016-2020, Interim President of Brandeis University from 2015 to 2016, and Dean of the Heller School for Social Policy and Management from 2008 to 2014. Lynch is currently a member of the Economic Advisory Panel of the New York Federal Reserve Bank and the International Advisory Council of Bocconi University.

About the Asper Center for Global Entrepreneurship

The Asper Center for Global Entrepreneurship serves as Brandeis International Business School's platform to examine and understand the key trends affecting entrepreneurship across cultures and borders. It provides a diverse range of learning experiences through courses, seminars, conferences, internships, business plan competitions, field visits and meetings with global entrepreneurs.

Globe on graph

The Business of Climate Change 2021

The 2021 Asper Award is part of the Business of Climate Change program sponsored by the Asper Center for Global Entrepreneurship.

See More Events

Previous Winners

Lior Div of Cybereason, Brandeis President Ronald Liebowitz, Udi Mokady of CyberArk

Udi Mokady, CEO of CyberArk
Lior Div, CEO of Cybereason

John Harthorne and Akhil Nigam
Co-founders, MassChallenge

Diane Hessan
Chairman, Communispace

Brian Lash '78
Founder, Target Companies

Helen Greiner
Co-Founder of iRobot, Founder/CEO of CyPhyWorks

Linda Rottenberg
CEO and Co-Founder, Endeavor Global

Jon L. Luther
Chairman and CEO, Dunkin' Brands